Budapest

Des milliers de locations meublées réservables en ligne

Compare:

Appartements disponibles:

Studio :131
Appartements 1 chambre :626
Appartements de 2 chambres :155
Appartements de 3 chambres :94

Appartements meublés à louer à Budapest

Chevauchant les rives du Danube en Europe centrale, la capitale hongroise est l’une des plus belles villes du continent. Avec un nombre impressionnant de trésors architecturaux, une culture cosmopolite et une vie nocturne magnifique, il n’est pas étonnant que Budapest attire 4 millions de touristes chaque année.

On peut trouver des appartements à louer à Budapest un peu partout dans la ville, pour tous les budgets et tous les modes de vie. La ville est divisée entre Buda et Pest et la plupart des appartements se trouvent du côté de Pest. Ils sont généralement situés dans des immeubles à appartements, vieux ou nouveaux.

Pour vous donner une idée du prix que vous payerez pour un appartement à Budapest, le loyer mensuel moyen pour un appartement 1 chambre s’élève à 130.000 HUF dans le centre-ville et à environ 95.000 HUF en-dehors. Ne soyez toutefois pas apeurés par tous les zéros. La conversion de ces prix en euros s’élève à environ 420€ et 300€ respectivement, ce qui est bien moins effrayant !

Trouver un logement à Budapest peut parfois représenter un défi si vous êtes nouveau dans la ville. Sur Nestpick, nous sommes là pour vous rendre la tâche plus facile. Si vous voulez louer un appartement à Budapest, il vous suffit de parcourir notre sélection de fantastiques logements meublés pour trouver l’endroit idéal pour vous.

Appart’hôtels à Budapest

Etant l’une des principales destinations touristiques de l’Europe centrale, Budapest offre un certain nombre d’options de logements de luxe.

Si vous cherchez un appart’hôtel à Budapest, attendez-vous à séjourner dans le centre-ville car c’est là que la plupart d’entre eux sont situés. Les appart’hôtels fournissent des services tels que la lessive, le service en chambre et le Wi-Fi gratuit, et peuvent également disposer d’un accès à un balcon ou une terrasse privée. Bien que la plupart d’entre eux soient situés dans des vieux immeubles, vous pouvez vous attendre à un intérieur lumineux et contemporain.

Il existe aussi des appartements offrant des services similaires aux appart’hôtels. On peut en trouver en-dehors du centre-ville, mais la plupart d’entre eux sont aussi regroupés dans le centre. Comme les appart’hôtels, leur prix est plus élevé que les appartements normaux.

Si vous cherchez un logement haut de gamme, parcourez notre sélection d’appart’hôtels dès maintenant.

Sélection d'annonces

2,271 €
Sublet.com

Appartement 2 pièces à Budapest, Szentkirufffdlyi u., 1088 Hungary

240 €
Erasmusu

Une chambre à Damijanics 40

1,554 €
Sublet.com

Appartement 2 pièces à Budapest, Krufffddy Gyula utca, Hungary

3,659 €
Only-apartments

Appartement 1 pièce à Andrássy út, Budapest

2,195 €
Only-apartments

Appartement 1 pièce à Donáti utca, Budapest

670 €
Erasmusu

Appartement 2 pièces à 101 Üllői út 1091

Tout montrer

Appartements récents

1,200 €
Spotahome

Appartement 1 pièce à Budapest, Bercsényi u., 1117 Hungary

650 €
Spotahome

Studio à Kun u.b

450 €
Spotahome

Studio à Budapest, Akácfa u., 1072 Hungary

681 €
Flatio

Appartement 1 pièce à Attila út 2

465 €
Spotahome

Studio à Budapest, Pannónia u., 1136 Hungary

350 €
Spotahome

Une chambre à Budapest, Csepreghy u., 1085 Hungary

Tout montrer

Sélection d'appartements

1,554 €
Sublet.com

Appartement 2 pièces à Budapest, Krufffddy Gyula utca, Hungary

670 €
Erasmusu

Appartement 2 pièces à 101 Üllői út 1091

1,829 €
Only-apartments

Appartement 1 pièce à Rákóczi út, Budapest

1,306 €
HomeAway

Appartement 1 pièce à Budapest

1,829 €
Only-apartments

Appartement 1 pièce à Ferenciek tere, Budapest

682 €
Sublet.com

Appartement 2 pièces à 1162 Budapest, Wesselufffdnyi Street, Hungary

Tout montrer

Sélection de chambres

249 €
Erasmusu

Une chambre à Hunyadi tér, 11 - 1067 Budapest

250 €
Erasmusu

Une chambre à 1114 Budapest, Bartók Béla út 76.

240 €
Erasmusu

Une chambre à Damijanics 40

290 €
Spotahome

Une chambre à Rákóczi út

280 €
Spotahome

Une chambre à Budapest, Wesselényi u., 1077 Hungary

370 €
Spotahome

Une chambre à Budapest, Rákóczi út, 1072 Hungary

Tout montrer

Appartements à Budapest par arrondissement

La Reine du Danube est un très bel endroit pour vivre. Extrêmement populaire auprès des expats, elle offre une excellente qualité de vie, une culture diversifiée et un grand nombre de nouvelles opportunités professionnelles.

Bien que la ville dispose d’un large choix d’options de logements, qui correspondent à différents budgets et modes de vie, trouver un endroit où vivre à Budapest peut parfois être un processus extrêmement stressant, même pour les locaux ! Vous en avez marre de chercher sans succès ? Aujourd’hui, la chance vous sourit : nous vous fournissons un aperçu rapide des meilleurs quartiers pour les expats et nouveaux arrivants dans la ville.

Une fois que vous vous serez familiarisés avec le marché immobilier à Budapest, notre vaste base de données vous permettra de filtrer votre recherche pour ne cibler que les appartements meublés qui se trouvent dans la gamme de prix et de taille qui vous convient. Cela vous aidera à sélectionner les meilleurs candidats et à choisir un très bon logement sans avoir à faire des compromis sur la qualité. Avec un petit coup de pouce de la part de Nestpick, cette ville enchanteresse de 1,7 millions d’habitants deviendra vite votre deuxième maison.

Les zones les plus attrayantes pour des appartements à Budapest

Centre-ville

Le centre-ville de Budapest s’étale le long du Danube du côté de Pest, et c’est le cœur battant de la ville. Englobant la majeure partie du District V, cette charmante zone est le quartier le plus populaire auprès des expats en raison de son statut de centre politique, financier, commercial et touristique de la Hongrie.

Avec sa collection éblouissante d’immeubles de style baroque, néo-classique ou art-nouveau, le centre-ville est l’une des zones les plus intéressantes d’Europe en termes d’architecture. Vous tomberez en admiration devant le Parlement : avec ses 268 mètres de long, c’est le plus grand immeuble de toute la Hongrie.

C’est aussi un très bon endroit pour manger, boire et faire du shopping. Váci utca (la rue Váci) est la rue touristique numéro 1 de tout Budapest, reprenant le gratin des plus grandes enseignes et marques de designer. Vous y serez aussi comblés en ce qui concerne la nourriture : vous trouverez des bistros hongrois haut de gamme, des restaurants italiens et des cuisines grecques à presque tous les coins de rue.

Contrairement à la croyance populaire, le centre de Budapest est en fait plutôt cher en ce qui concerne le marché immobilier. De nombreux nouveaux arrivants s’en rendent compte, à leur grand désarroi, lorsqu’ils arrivent dans la ville : les appartements dans le centre-ville de Budapest peuvent souvent être difficiles à trouver lorsque l’on dispose d’un délai plutôt court. Un appartement 3 chambres coûte généralement aux alentours de 240.000 HUF (765€).

La plupart des appartements du centre-ville de Budapest se trouvent dans de vieux immeubles qui disposent d’un intérieur rénové. Ceci est dû à la législation qui protège les vieux bâtiments et limite grandement les nouveaux développements. Si vous cherchez un appartement neuf, le mieux est d’explorer les options aux abords du centre-ville.

Buda

Avec ses magnifiques châteaux, ses spas aux nombreux ornements et ses charmants funiculaires qui franchissent ses majestueux versants vallonnés, Buda donne l’impression d’être tout droit sortie d’un conte de fées. Situé sur la rive ouest de la ville, ce cadre spectaculaire surplombe le Danube avec un air d’élégance et d’opulente autorité.

Parmi les principaux monuments, on note le magistral Palais royal, qui renferme la librairie nationale et une abondance de statues et de monuments, mais aussi les somptueux bains publics et l’emblématique Statue de la Liberté, qui s’élève sur la Citadelle au sommet du Mont Gellért et offre une vue envoutante sur la ville et au-delà.

Pour conserver le long héritage historique de la ville, le gouvernement hongrois a protégé de grandes portions de Buda contre le développement. Le quartier est vert et vallonné, fournissant de nombreuses opportunités de randonnées et de balades en vélo. Vous serez en pleine forme !

Cependant, habiter ici peut avoir quelques inconvénients. En été, la zone déborde de touristes, et les parkings sont sévèrement limités.

Les appartements à Buda sont parmi les plus chers de Budapest, et ils offrent souvent moins de variété que ceux que l’on trouve de l’autre côté du fleuve, à Pest. Il y a quelques appartements ici mais la plupart des options de logement sont des maisons mitoyennes ou 4 façades. Buda est un lieu de résidence généralement plus apprécié par les expats avec enfants, car il dispose d’une variété de parcs et de plusieurs écoles internationales. Les districts II et XII sont les plus populaires.

Pest

La division entre Buda et Pest n’est pas seulement géographique : le Pest vivant et agité est à bien des égards aux antipodes du Buda vallonné à l’ambiance proche de la banlieue. Abritant la majorité des bars, restaurants, bureaux, liaisons de transport et options de logement de la ville, c’est à Pest que se trouve réellement l’action.

La partie est de Pest offre une vie urbaine à l’européenne et est bien plus animée et moderne que sa jumelle à l’ouest. Avec ses cafés, ses magasins, ses musées, ses parcs et ses places remplies de verdure, Pest est le rêve de tout expat. Vous y trouverez aussi tout ce qu’il vous faut en termes de vie nocturne et de divertissement, avec une belle gamme de restaurants et boîtes de nuit. Que vous désiriez un repas vegan bien copieux, une visite d’une galerie moderniste ou une bonne petite bière, Pest a de quoi vous satisfaire. Comme les locaux le diraient : Egészségére !

Une grande partie de Pest est caractérisée par sa magnifique architecture art nouveau et sécessionniste, et ses quartiers pittoresques sont l’une des raisons pour lesquelles des flots d’expatriés continuent à s’installer ici. La plupart des appartements meublés sont des appartements rénovés situés dans des immeubles classiques du 19ème siècle. Cependant, il est aussi possible de trouver des nouvelles constructions lorsque l’on s’approche de la périphérie de la ville. Si vous cherchez des zones qui combinent des logements abordables à un grand nombre d’activités culturelles, les districts VI et VII sont sûrement ce qu’il vous faut.

Pest abrite aussi la gare principale de la ville, Keleti. De là, de nombreux trains partent vers des destinations en Hongrie ainsi que vers d’autres grandes villes européennes (le train pour Vienne, par exemple, prend 2 heures et 40 minutes).

Si vous cherchez la meilleure sélection d’appartements à Pest, vous êtes au bon endroit.

Logement étudiant à Budapest

Budapest est un centre étudiant régional, avec des milliers d’étudiants étrangers vivant dans la ville. On trouve plusieurs universités de qualité à Budapest, et il est généralement possible d’en trouver une qui est spécialisée dans votre domaine d’études.

Les universités les plus connues à Budapest pour les étudiants étrangers sont la Budapest Business School, l’Université polytechnique et économie de Budapest (BME), l’Université d’Europe centrale (CEU), l’Université Corvinus de Budapest, l’Université Loránd Eötvös (ELTE), l’Université hongroise des beaux-arts, l’Université Semmelweis et la University of Applied Sciences (BKF).

Les logements étudiants à Budapest sont généralement disponibles à un prix raisonnable, pour une grande ville européenne de sa taille et de son prestige. Bien que tout dépende de votre budget, plusieurs options s’offrent à vous et vous pouvez décider de partager une chambre, d’avoir votre propre chambre ou de louer un appartement entier.

Sur Nestpick, une vaste gamme d’options de logement pour moyen et long-terme sont disponibles pour les étudiants à Budapest. À l’heure de chercher un appartement étudiant à Budapest, assurez-vous de prendre en compte un certain nombre de variables-clés. Parmi celles-ci se trouvent la distance depuis votre université, l’accessibilité de l’appartement aux liaisons de transport local, et le district dans lequel vous vivrez (certains peuvent être plus agréables que d’autres).

Transport en commun à Budapest

Les transports en commun à Budapest sont efficaces, peu chers et circulent autour de tous les principaux endroits touristiques de la ville. Le réseau de transport en commun de la ville, qui se compose de métros, bus, trolleybus, trams, trains et bateaux saisonniers, est sans doute l’un des meilleurs au monde.

Le métro de Budapest dessert principalement le côté de Pest, avec seulement trois stations du côté de Buda. Tous les monuments et points d’intérêt les plus importants de la ville peuvent être facilement accessibles via l’une des quatre lignes de métro ou les lignes de tram principales (n° 2, 4 et 6).

Si vous voulez admirer la beauté de Budapest depuis un point de vue unique, il y a aussi des trajets en bateau sur le Danube, du printemps à l’automne.

Les tickets doivent être achetés à l’avance. Vous pouvez les obtenir depuis les machines de vente de billets ou dans l’un des nombreux kiosques à journaux de la ville. La majorité des distributeurs de billets sont situés dans les stations de métro et dans le centre-ville, et vous pouvez choisir parmi plusieurs langues.

Un aller-simple coûte 350 HUF (1,10€). Des cartes de transport sont disponibles et sont valides dans tous les moyens de transport. Vous avez le choix entre un pass de 24 heures (napijegy: 1.650 HUF/5,25€), un pass de 72 heures (turistajegy: 4.150 HUF/13,20€) et un pass de 7 jours (hetijegy: 4.950 HUF/15,80€).

Vu le grand nombre d’arnaques, il est préférable d’éviter les taxis. Bien que ça ne soit généralement pas source de sérieuses inquiétudes, il est important de mentionner que le système de transports en commun de Budapest est l’endroit où les touristes ont le plus de chances d’être victimes de pickpockets ou de petits vols. Il est donc préférable de rester attentif lorsque vous voyagez.

Budapest

Thousands of furnished rentals to book online

Compare:

Available Apartments:

1 bedroom apartments :519
2 bedroom apartments :78
3 bedroom apartments :52
Studio :79

Furnished Budapest Apartments for Rent

Rent Apartments & Rooms in Budapest

Straddling the banks of the Danube in Central Europe, the Hungarian capital Budapest is one of the most beautiful cities on the continent. With a staggering number of architectural treasures, a cosmopolitan culture and a fantastic nightlife, it is little wonder that Budapest attracts 4 million tourists each year.

Budapest apartments for rent can be found all across the city, catering to a wide range of budgets and lifestyles. The majority of apartments are on the Pest side of the city, and typically come set within a wider apartment complex, whether old or new.

To give you a measure of how much you’ll be paying for Budapest apartments, the average monthly rental cost for 1-bedroom is around 130,000 HUF in the city centre and around 95,000 HUF outside the city centre. Don’t be alarmed by the large figures of Hungarian currency, however. This converts to around €420 and €300 respectively, which doesn’t seem so bad really!

Finding accommodation in Budapest can often be a daunting task if you’re a new arrival to the city. At Nestpick, we’re here to make the process much easier. If you want to rent a flat in Budapest, simply browse our selection of fantastic furnished accommodation to find the place that’s right for you.

Aparthotels & Serviced Apartments in Budapest

Serviced and furnished apartments in Budapest

As one of the main tourist destinations in Central Europe, Budapest has its fair share of luxury accommodation options.

If you are looking for a fully furnished apartment in Budapest you should expect to stay around the city centre, as this is where most are located. Serviced apartments provide services such as laundry, room service and free WiFi, and many have access to balconies and private terraces. While the majority are set within old-fashioned buildings, you can expect a bright, contemporary interior design.

Serviced apartments in Budapest are found in a wider geographical area, but the majority are also clustered around the city centre. Serviced apartments share many of the amenities of aparthotels, and carry a similarly upmarket price tag.

Serviced apartments in Budapest can be a great way to live in a city, they have everything a fully furnished apartment has, with extra services like a gym, pool and cleaning. Serviced apartments in Budapest are also a little more expensive than regular apartments for rent, so be prepared to pay a little more. A lot of serviced apartments are very central and expensive. If premium accommodation is what you’re after, browse our selection of aparthotels and serviced apartments now.

Featured Properties

575 €
Erasmusu

Sunny apartment with terrace close to all major universities

750 €
Erasmusu

2 bedrooms apartment in the centre excellent location

3,500 €
Only-apartments

Spacious apartment very close to the centre of Budapest with Parking,

1,757 €
HomeAway

Sun Resort Apartments - Deluxe One-Bedroom apartments for 2-4 people

4,113 €
Only-apartments

Spacious apartment in the center of Budapest with Lift, Internet, Wash

893 €
Only-apartments

Cozy apartment in the center of Budapest with Lift, Internet, Washing

Show all properties

Recent properties

531 €
Roomster

Friendly studio near the downtown

959 €
Flatio

Quiet Renovated 3-Room Flat In Central Budapest

545 €
Roomster

Newly renovated 1 bedroom flat

279 €
Flatio

single, privat room for rent best location

5,091 €
HomeAway

Budapest: Beautiful flat with fire-place and balcony ! Romantic and hi

4,629 €
HomeAway

Superb 4-room corner apartment

Show all properties

Featured Apartments

750 €
Erasmusu

2 bedrooms apartment in the centre excellent location

470 €
Roomster

Dohany 68 - Stylish Gallery apartment

893 €
Only-apartments

Cozy apartment in the center of Budapest with Lift, Internet, Washing

5,091 €
HomeAway

Budapest: Beautiful flat with fire-place and balcony ! Romantic and hi

3,572 €
Only-apartments

Spacious apartment in the center of Budapest with Lift, Parking, Inter

1,877 €
HomeAway

The Gallery On Almássy Square

Show all properties

Featured Rooms

240 €
Erasmusu

In Rozsa Street D7 room in a 3-bedroom appartement in Budapest close t

340 €
Erasmusu

Last minute price!!!!!! VERY CENTRAL ROOM

350 €
Erasmusu

very pretty room, in the center of Budapest

340 €
Erasmusu

LAST MINUTE PRICE !!!!!! Very nice central room.

290 €
Erasmusu

LAST ROOM!!!!!! IN Very nice and central flat

330 €
Erasmusu

Summer package for beautiful lovely room downtown Budapest

Show all properties

Aparthotel in Budapest

Budapest is a great city to live in, it is cheap and has great weather during the summer months. The capital of Hungary is a hub of tourism, culture and great nightlife! Since the rise of independent holiday apartments, hotels have developed to offer the demand for more independence with the facilities of a hotel.

Aparthotel in Budapest are rising in popularity because tourists don’t want to feel like tourists anymore, they would rather feel like a local! Aparthotels offer services like room service, yet independent like apartments!

Room for Rent in Budapest

Budapest is a great city, it has lots to see and do, all for a very reasonable price. The spa’s across the city are world famous, and the tech scene is every growing! Rooms for rent in Budapest are a great way to move in to a new city without spending too much.

To rent a whole property like a flat or apartment in Budapest would mean paying the entire rent for however many rooms, all the utilities and bills. Instead, to rent a room in Budapest would mean to split all of the bills between the different rooms! Another reason to rent a room would be to meet new people also living and working in the city, this could be a really sociable move for young professionals moving to Budapest without too many contacts. Let us help you find the perfect room to rent in Budapest, in the perfect area of the city!

Budapest Apartments by District

As a hugely popular expat destination with a great quality of living, diverse culture and large number of new job opportunities, the Queen on the Danube represents a great place to live.

While the city has a wide range of housing options that accommodate a number of lifestyles and budgets, the process of finding somewhere to live in Budapest can be extremely stressful - even for locals! Sick of searching to no avail? Well you’re in luck, as we’ve handily provided a quick overview of the best neighbourhoods for expats and new arrivals to the city.

Once you’ve familiarised yourself with Budapest’s housing market, our extensive database will allow you to narrow your search to look for furnished accommodation within a price and size range that suits you. This will help you pick out down the best candidates and choose great accommodation without having to compromise on quality.

With a little help from Nestpick, this enchanting city of 1.7 million people will soon feel like a home from home.

More Attractive Areas for Furnished Apartments in Budapest

Budapest City Centre Apartments

The city centre or Inner City of Budapest hugs the river bank on the Pest side of the Danube, and is the beating heart of the capital. Encompassing most of District V, this charming area is the most popular neighbourhood for expats due to its status as the political, financial, commercial and touristic centre of Hungary.

With a dazzling array of baroque, neo-classical and art nouveau buildings, the Inner City is one of the most architecturally interesting areas in all of Europe. You’ll be in awe of the Parliament Building: at 268 metres long, it’s the largest building in all of Hungary.

It’s also great for eating, drinking and shopping. Váci utca (Váci Street) is the number one tourist street in all of Budapest, containing a who’s who of high street names and designer brands. Meanwhile, you’ll be spoilt for choice when it comes to food: high-end Hungarian bistros, Italian restaurants and Greek kitchens are practically on every corner.

Contrary to popular belief, central Budapest is actually fairly expensive when it comes to the housing market. As many new arrivals to the city often find - much to their dismay - Inner City apartments in Budapest can often be hard to find at short notice. A typical 3-bedroom apartment here costs around 240,000 HUF (€765).

The majority of Budapest city centre apartments are set within old buildings with refurbished interiors. This is due to legislation that protects old buildings and leaves limited space for new developments. If you are looking for new-build apartments, your best bet is to explore options on the outskirts of the city centre.

Buda Apartments

With magnificent castles, ornate spas and charming funiculars criss-crossing its majestic hilly slopes, Buda is like something straight out of a fairy tale. Situated on the western bank of the city, this spectacular setting looks down on the Danube with an air of elegance and opulent authority.

Key landmarks include: the magisterial Royal Palace - containing the National Library and an abundance of statues and monuments - the lavish bathhouses; the luscious City Park; and the iconic Liberty Statue, which sits atop the Gellért Hill citadella and offers mesmerising views of the city and beyond.

To keep the area’s long historical legacy intact, the Hungarian government has protected large sections of Buda from development. The neighbourhood is hilly and green, providing ample opportunities for hiking and biking. You’ll be fit as a fiddle in no time!

Living here can have drawbacks, however. During the summer the area is overflowing with tourists, and parking is severely restricted.

Buda apartments are also among Budapest’s priciest, and offer a lot less variety than those over the river in Pest. There are some apartments here but most housing options are semi-detached or freestanding homes. Buda is a preferred housing area for expats with children due to the access to a variety of parks and various international schools. II and XII are the most popular districts.

Apartments in Pest

The Buda-Pest split is more than just a geographic division: lively, boisterous Pest is in many ways the polar opposite of hilly, semi-suburban Buda. Home to the majority of the city’s bars, restaurants, offices, transport connections and housing options, Pest is where the real action happens.

Eastern Pest offers European city living at its best and is much more lively and modern than its western twin. With cafes, shops, museums, parks and green squares all easily accessible, Pest is an expat’s dream. You’re also covered for nightlife and entertainment, with a great selection of bars and nightclubs on offer. Whether you desire a hearty vegan meal, a trip to a modernist gallery or a cheeky pint, Pest will have you covered. As the locals might say: Egészségére!

Much of Pest is characterised by its fabulous art nouveau and secessionist architecture, and such picturesque living quarters are partly why streams of expats continue to move here. Most furnished apartments here are renovated flats in classic 19th-century buildings. However, it is also possible to find newly purpose-built complexes towards the outskirts of the city. For areas that combine affordable housing with a host of cultural activities, Districts VI and VII are certainly worth considering.

Pest is also home to the city’s main station, Keleti, which offers regular rail services to destinations throughout Hungary as well as other major European cities (the train to Vienna takes 2 hours 40 minutes).

To find the best selection of apartments in Pest, Budapest, look no further than Nestpick.

Student Accommodation Budapest

Budapest is something of a regional student hub, with thousands of foreign students living across the city. Budapest has many quality universities to choose from, and you can usually find one that specialises in your area of study.

The most popular universities in Budapest for foreign students include: the Budapest Business School, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME), Central European University (CEU), Corvinus University of Budapest, Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE), the Hungarian University of Fine Arts, Semmelweis University and the University of Applied Sciences (BKF).

Student accommodation Budapest is relatively well-priced for a major European city of its size and prestige. Although it fully depends on your budget, options include you sharing a room, getting your own room, or renting a whole apartment.

With Nestpick, a range of mid and long-term options are available for student housing in Budapest. When looking at Budapest student apartments, be sure to consider a number of key variables. These include the distance from your university, the apartment’s access to local transport connections, and the district you’ll be living in (some can be nicer than others).

Budapest Public Transport

Budapest’s public transport is efficient, inexpensive and runs throughout all the main tourist hotspots of the city. Consisting of the Metro, trams, buses, trolley-buses, trains and seasonal river boats, the city’s public transport network is arguably one of the best in the world.

The Budapest Metro mostly serves the Pest side of the river with three stations on the Buda side. All the major sights and attractions in the city can easily be reached by travelling on any of the four Metro lines or the major tram lines (No. 2, 4 and 6).

If you wish to take in the beauty of Budapest from a unique vantage point, there are also scheduled riverboat journeys on the Danube from spring to autumn.

Tickets must be purchased in advance. You can get them from ticket vending machines (TVM) or from the many newspaper kiosks throughout the city. TVMs are mostly located in metro stations and around the city centre, and language options are available.

A single ticket costs 350 HUF (€1.10). Travel cards are available, and are valid on all public transport vehicles. These include a 24-hour travel card (napijegy: 1,650 HUF/€5.25), a 72-hour travel card (turistajegy: 4,150 HUF/€13.20) and a 7-day travel card (hetijegy: 4,950 HUF/€15.80).

Due to the high number of scams, taxis are best avoiding.

While not a major cause of concern, it’s worth mentioning that Budapest’s public transport system is where tourists are most likely to be victims of pickpocketing or petty theft. As such, it’s best to stay diligent when you travel.

Average Price Index: