Florence

Des milliers de locations meublées réservables en ligne

Compare:

Appartements disponibles:

Appartements 1 chambre :674
Appartements de 2 chambres :289
Appartements de 3 chambres :93
Studio :38

Appartements à Florence

Vous cherchez des appartements meublés à Florence? Ne cherchez pas plus loin. Sur Nestpick, nous proposons une large gamme d'appartements au choix - pour répondre à un vaste éventail de budget et de préférences personnelles.

De nombreux appartements à Florence sont situés dans des bâtiments vieux de plusieurs siècles, le long des rues pavées. Vous profiterez ainsi d’un cadre toscan totalement pittoresque. Cependant, il est également possible de trouver des appartements modernes et plus spacieux dans toute la ville. Peu importe ce que vous souhaitez, cette ville enchanteresse pourra vous l'offrir.

En matière de locations d'appartements à Florence, il est difficile de faire mieux que le choix que vous aurez à disposition en naviguant sur Nestpick. Effectuez une recherche grâce à notre large choix d'hébergements dès maintenant.

Sélection d'annonces

450 €
EasyRoommate

Une chambre à Quartiere 2

1,817 €
Study Abroad

Appartement 2 pièces à Quartiere 1

2,665 €
Uniplaces

Appartement 2 pièces à Quartiere 1

1,500 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 1 pièce à Via delle Carra, Florence

2,857 €
Only-apartments

Appartement 1 pièce à Quartiere 1

3,564 €
HomeAway

Appartement 1 pièce à Quartiere 1

Tout montrer

Appartements récents

330 €
EasyRoommate

Une chambre à Via de' Vespucci,, Florence

590 €
Uniplaces

Une chambre à Quartiere 2

480 €
Uniplaces

Une chambre à Quartiere 5

430 €
EasyRoommate

Une chambre à Quartiere 1

1,300 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 1 pièce à Quartiere 1

2,500 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 2 pièces à Via dello Sprone, Florence

Tout montrer

Sélection d'appartements

1,600 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 2 pièces à Via Guelfa, Florence

1,750 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 2 pièces à Quartiere 1

2,500 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 2 pièces à Via dello Sprone, Florence

2,400 €
Uniplaces

Appartement 3 pièces à Quartiere 1

1,100 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 1 pièce à Quartiere 1

1,500 €
HousingAnywhere

Appartement 1 pièce à Quartiere 1

Tout montrer

Sélection de chambres

450 €
EasyRoommate

Une chambre à Quartiere 2

550 €
HousingAnywhere

Une chambre à Quartiere 2

680 €
HousingAnywhere

Une chambre à Quartiere 1

450 €
EasyRoommate

Une chambre à Quartiere 1

430 €
Zappyrent

Une chambre à Quartiere 1

450 €
Erasmusu

Une chambre à Quartiere 1

Tout montrer

Biens immobiliers en vedette

Déménagement à Florence

Dante Alighieri. Leonardo da Vinci. La Renaissance. La capitale de la Toscane ne propose rien de moins que son histoire illustre. La ville vit et respire son glorieux passé. En tant que grand centre européen des arts et des sciences, Florence abrite une multitude de délices architecturaux, de merveilles monastiques et de trésors culturels. Elle abrite également une scène culturelle contemporaine florissante, offrant ce que l'Italie a de mieux en matière d'art, de musique, de cuisine et de vie nocturne.

Si vous envisagez de déménager à Florence en Italie, vous bénéficierez du joyau de la Couronne de la Toscane à portée de main. Comme tous les déménagements dans une nouvelle ville, vous devrez prendre en compte un certain nombre de choses. Il est conseillé de vous renseigner sur le coût de la vie dans la ville; y compris les éléments tels que l'hébergement, les services publics, l'épicerie, l'habillement et les transports.

Vous devez également vous renseigner sur les différents quartiers de la ville. Ceci vous donnera un aperçu de la sécurité de la zone, du nombre d'installations locales à proximité, et du type de propriété que vous êtes susceptible de trouver.

Quartiers résidentiels de Florence

Santa Maria

Santa Maria est le cœur historique de la ville, et abrite quelques-unes des plus belles églises et basiliques de la péninsule italienne. Avec ses bâtiments de couleur brune et jaune, ses esplanades animées et son ambiance accueillante, ce quartier servira de base parfaite pour découvrir le reste de la ville.

L'église de Santa Maria Novella est l'une des basiliques florentines les plus célèbres, et se trouve en face du principal terminus ferroviaire de la ville, portant le même nom. Consacrée en 1420, cette église dominicaine abrite un certain nombre de fresques gothiques célèbres et anciennes de la Renaissance.

L'autre trésor ecclésiastique de la région est la Santa Maria Maggiore de Florence (à ne pas confondre avec l'église de Rome du même nom). C'est en effet l'une des plus anciennes églises existantes dans la ville. Elle fut construite au XIe siècle.

Les appartements près de Santa Maria Novella à Florence ont tendance à être assez compact en raison de l'âge des bâtiments, mais offrent cependant un accès fantastique aux bars, restaurants, transports, et, bien sûr, à sa basilique spectaculaire. Le prix moyen d'un appartement de 2 chambres dans cette zone est d'environ 1 100€ par mois.

En raison du nombre élevé de sites historiques et de la proximité de la gare Santa Maria Novella Florence, cette zone est incroyablement prisée des touristes et des banlieusards. Vous devrez donc prendre ceci en compte si vous envisagez de chercher des appartements dans cette zone.

San Lorenzo

Si vous voulez être au coeur de la vie florentine, nous vous conseillons de rechercher près de la Piazza San Lorenzo. Avec un marché quotidien prospère dans les rues entourant la Basilique de San Lorenzo et le marché principal de l'alimentation à seulement quelques minutes à pied, vous serez à proximité d'une ruche abritant toute l'activité commerciale.

Le célèbre marché de San Lorenzo de Florence est l'un des plus beaux du genre en Italie. Ce marché se compose en fait de deux marchés distincts: le Mercato centrale avec ses deux niveaux qui vend une grande variété d'aliments toscans délicieux, et un marché extérieur qui propose un assortiment de marchandises, y compris du cuir, des vêtements, des souvenirs et de la poterie.

L'irrépressible Basilique de San Lorenzo qui se profile sur le marché extérieur est l'une des nombreuses églises de Florence qui prétendent être les plus anciennes de la ville. Elle est datée de l'An 393. L'église fut reconstruite plusieurs fois; financée par des mécènes comme la famille des Médicis qui régnait sur la ville tout au long de l'ère de la Renaissance. À l'intérieur du bâtiment se trouvent des œuvres célèbres des artistes de la Renaissance comme Verrocchio et Donatello.

Comme dans d'autres parties du centre historique de la ville, les appartements de San Lorenzo ont tendance à être archaïques dans leur composition. Une grande partie d'entre eux sont équipés d'intérieurs modernes, mais offrent cependant toutes les commodités standard comme la climatisation. Les prix sont similaires à ceux de Santa Maria.

Hébergement au centre-ville de Florence

Situé dans les avenues tracées sur les anciennes murailles médiévales, le centre historique de Florence est le lieu où se trouvent les sites culturels les plus importants du patrimoine culturel de la ville.

Cette zone est en fait relativement petite, et est facilement accessible en 30 minutes à pied. Au cours de cette promenade, vous pourrez admirer la plupart des grands sites, y compris le Duomo (Dôme) de la cathédrale de Florence, les Uffizi et le Ponte Vecchio.

Le centre-ville peut être extrêmement bondé à certains moments, surtout le week-end. Cependant, il est agréable de constater qu'une grande partie du centre-ville est piéton et fermé à la circulation, sauf pour les résidents, les taxis et les autobus. Pour les randonneurs passionnés et les cyclistes parmi vous, ce sera une excellente nouvelle.

Les appartements du centre-ville sont facilement accessibles. Les prix d'un appartement meublé décent peuvent varier entre 650€ et 1 400€ - en fonction d'un certain nombre de variables telles que le nombre de chambres, l'espace au sol, le nombre d'équipements collectifs/les appareils et la valeur de l'immobilier du voisinage dans lequel il est situé. Si vous voulez vivre à proximité du centre de la vie nocturne, nous vous conseillons le quartier animé de Santa Croce. Si vous êtes à la recherche d'un endroit un peu plus serein, gardez un œil sur les appartements situés près de la splendide Giardino Della Gherardesca (les jardins Gherardesca).

Se rendre de l'aéroport de Florence 'Peretola' au centre-ville est relativement simple. La meilleure façon d'y arriver sera de prendre le taxi, et heureusement pour vous, les tarifs sont fixes pour ce trajet et oscillent entre 20€ à 23€ (attendez-vous à payer un peu plus durant la période de vacances). D'autre part, un bus de navette spécial passe toutes les demi-heures de 6h00 à 23h30 depuis et vers la gare du centre-ville de Florence. Comptez 20-25 minutes pour le trajet. Ce bus coûte 6€ pour une personne.

Hébergement étudiant à Florence

Florence dispose de l'un des systèmes universitaires les plus renommés d'Italie, avec différentes institutions dans les domaines des sciences humaines et de la science. La plus grande université publique est l'Université de Florence, qui fut fondée en 1321 et compte 60 000 étudiants (dont beaucoup sont internationaux). Avec ses festivals, sa vie nocturne, sa gastronomie, l'art et la culture, les études à Florence seront sans nul doute une expérience mémorable.

La plupart des appartements étudiants à Florence sont regroupés autour du campus principal ou sont situés dans le centre historique de la ville. Autour du centre-ville, la majorité des appartements se trouvent dans de charmants bâtiments anciens toscans et équipés de tous les équipements modernes. Des appartements modernes et plus spacieux sont également disponibles, bien que ceux-ci aient tendance à être situés à l'extérieur du centre-ville.

Il existe trois options principales en matière de logement étudiant à Florence: louer une chambre, partager un appartement ou trouver un logement dans les résidences étudiantes. La plupart des résidentes étudiants sont situées au nord du centre-ville et sont parfaitement connectées avec le reste de la ville.

Pour bénéficier d'une large sélection de locations d'appartements étudiants à Florence pour le moyen et le long terme, Nestpick est l'endroit idéal.

Transports publics à Florence

Les transports publics à Florence, en Italie, sont largement utilisés et desservent une grande partie de la ville. La gare principale de Florence - Santa Maria Novella - est située au nord-ouest du centre-ville et assure des trains toutes les heures depuis et vers Bologne, Milan, Venise, Rome et Naples. Avant de monter à bord d'un train, assurez-vous que votre billet soit déjà composté.

Si vous cherchez à découvrir d'autres destinations comme les villes de Toscane et d'Ombrie, les bus seront sûrement la meilleure option - avec des prix abordables et des trajets fréquents pour vous rendre dans des lieux hors des sentiers battus.

Les itinéraires de bus sont disponibles partout dans la ville, et les bus sont réguliers et peu coûteux. Comme pour les trains, vous devrez acheter votre billet avant de prendre le bus, en vous les procurant auprès des machines à billets dans les gares et les kiosques. Un trajet unique coûte 1,20€, mais vous pourrez aussi opter pour un abonnement (si vous allez utiliser les bus fréquemment. Les bus sont climatisés, passent régulièrement et disposent de mises à jour en temps réel des heures d'arrivée.

Il est néanmoins bon de mentionner que se déplacer en bus peut parfois être frustrant. Les itinéraires sont souvent déroutés et allongent le trajet. Les bus pourront aussi être remplis au maximum à l'heure de pointe. Il n'existe pas non plus de service de bus de nuit. Vous devrez donc utiliser une autre option de transport si vous souhaitez sortir plus tard.

Florence dispose aussi d'une ligne de tramway unique, la T1, qui relie la seule station de tramway de la ville Via Alamanni (à proximité de Santa Maria Novella) à la banlieue de Scandicci. Le service de tramway compte 14 arrêts et vous aurez besoin de 25 minutes pour voyager d'un bout à l'autre de la ligne.

Les taxis à Florence sont relativement chers et peu plébiscités. Nous vous conseillons donc de réserver si vous souhaitez prendre un taxi pour rejoindre votre destination - que ce soit via un appel téléphonique ou par réservation auprès d'une station de taxis.

Florence

Thousands of furnished rentals to book online

Compare:

Available Apartments:

Studio :52
1 bedroom apartments :825
2 bedroom apartments :152
3 bedroom apartments :57

Prices:

Apartments starting from : 290 €

Apartments in Florence

Looking for furnished apartments in Florence? Look no further. Here at Nestpick, we offer a great variety of apartments to choose from - catering to a broad range of budget requirements and personal preferences.

Many apartments in Florence are set within centuries-old buildings along cobblestone streets, providing you with a perfectly picturesque Tuscan setting. However, it’s also possible to find modern, more spacious apartments all across the city. Whatever you desire, this enchanting city will have you covered.

When it comes to Florence apartment rentals, it’s hard to top the choice you have when you browse with Nestpick. Search through our easily navigable and extensive selection of accommodation options now.

Featured Properties

2,415 €
Only-apartments

Florence (Apt. 685342)

Via Ricasoli, Firenze

     
5 May 2018
1 Room
25 m2

1,665 €
Study Abroad

Lovely 1 bedroom student loft in the heart of historic Florence, ideal

Santa Maria Novella

     
6 Aug 2018
1 Room

2,025 €
Study Abroad

Simple yet accommodating 1-bedroom apartment located in the historic c

Santa Croce

     
2 Jul 2018
1 Room

3,659 €
Only-apartments

Florence - Santa Maria Novella (Apt. 357468)

Via Palazzuolo, Florence

      
Available Now
1 Room
50 m2

4,756 €
Only-apartments

Florence - Santa Maria Novella (Apt. 357867)

Via delle Ghiacciaie, Florence

     
6 May 2018
1 Room
50 m2

350 €
EasyRoommate

Cerco coinquilino/a fino a fine contratto contattare Leonardo Garofalo

Via Luigi Boccherini, 50144

Available Now
1 Room

Show all properties

Recent properties

500 €
Erasmusu

Grande camera singola

Via Uguccione della Faggiola n° 79, CAP 50126

Available Now
3 Room

350 €
Spotahome

Twin Beds in Rooms and beds for rent in 3-bedroom apartment in Santo S

Via di Santo Spirito, 50125 Firenze FI, Italy

     
12 Aug 2018
3 Room

450 €
Spotahome

Single Bed in Rooms and beds for rent in 3-bedroom apartment in San Ma

Via delle Ruote, 50129 Firenze FI, Italy

    
4 Aug 2018
2 Room

350 €
Spotahome

Twin Beds in Rooms and beds for rent in 3-bedroom apartment in San Mar

Via delle Ruote, 50129 Firenze FI, Italy

    
4 Aug 2018
2 Room

350 €
Spotahome

Twin Beds in Rooms and beds for rent in 3-bedroom apartment in Duomo

Piazza della Signoria, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy

   
4 Aug 2018
2 Room

350 €
Spotahome

Twin Beds in Rooms and beds for rent in 3-bedroom apartment in Duomo

Piazza della Signoria, 50122 Firenze FI, Italy

   
Available Now
2 Room

Show all properties

Featured Apartments

2,415 €
Only-apartments

Florence (Apt. 685342)

Via Ricasoli, Firenze

     
5 May 2018
1 Room
25 m2

2,808 €
HomeAway

Duomo luxury apartment. See also 165586,Wi/fi,A/C, tours,cooking class

Florence

19 Jul 2018
1 Room

2,561 €
Only-apartments

Florence (House 553060)

Borgo San Frediano, Firenze

    
3 Jun 2018
1 Room

1,665 €
Study Abroad

Lovely 1 bedroom student loft in the heart of historic Florence, ideal

Santa Maria Novella

     
6 Aug 2018
1 Room

2,305 €
Only-apartments

Florence (Apt. 561044)

Via San Zanobi, Firenze

       
6 Aug 2018
1 Room
79 m2

900 €
Spotahome

Stylish 1-bedroom apartment for rent in Puccini

Via Giuseppe Saverio Mercadante, 50144 Firenze FI, Italy

       
1 Aug 2018
1 Room

Show all properties

Featured Rooms

350 €
EasyRoommate

STANZA SINGOLA CAMPO DI MARTE FIRENZE - FACOLTA' PSICOLOGIA

Via Leonardo Fibonacci, 50131

Available Now
5 Room

590 €
EasyRoommate

Camera singola in Santa Croce

Via Ghibellina, 50122

1 Jun 2018
3 Room

450 €
EasyRoommate

Single Room

Via Cittadella, 50144

Available Now
3 Room

450 €
Erasmusu

STANZA SINGOLA luminosa (only girls)

Via Renato Fucini 5, 50135

31 Jul 2018
1 Room

800 €
Spotahome

Double Bed in Room for rent in 2-bedroom apartment near Parco San Dona

Via M. Roselli Cecconi, 50127 Firenze FI, Italy

       
1 Aug 2018
1 Room

350 €
EasyRoommate

Cerco coinquilino/a fino a fine contratto contattare Leonardo Garofalo

Via Luigi Boccherini, 50144

Available Now
1 Room

Show all properties

Moving to and Finding Apartments in Florence for Rent

Dante Alighieri. Leonardo da Vinci. The Renaissance.

The capital of Tuscany has nothing short of an illustrious history, and the city lives and breathes its past. As a major European centre of the arts and sciences, Florence is replete with architectural delights, monastic marvels and cultural treasures. It’s also home to a thriving contemporary cultural scene, offering some of the best Italy has to offer in art, music, cuisine and nightlife.

If you’re thinking of moving to Florence in Italy, you’ll have the crown jewel of Tuscany right at your fingertips. As with moving to any new city, there are a number of things you should take into consideration. It’s certainly advisable to research the city’s cost of living; including variables such as accommodation, utilities, groceries, clothing and transport.

You should also research the different neighbourhoods of the city. This will give you a good gauge of how safe an area is, how many local amenities are nearby, and what type of property you’re likely to find.

How Much Are Apartments In Florence

For such a historic and sought-after destination, the price for rental apartments in Florence is actually not too bad, especially compared with some other major European cities. While dining out in Italy is not the cheapest pastime, rental costs are toward the lower end of the scale, comparatively speaking and Florence is no different. While prices can skyrocket in the historic center with many apartments used for short term tourist rentals, you can expect to pay around €700 for a studio and €900 for a one-bedroom apartment in a slightly less touristy area.

fApartments in Florence by District

Santa Maria Novella Apartments

Santa Maria is the historical heart of the city, and is home to some of the finest churches and basilicas on the Italian Peninsula. With its brown and yellow-hued buildings, bustling plazas and welcoming ambience, this neighbourhood acts as a superb base to explore the rest of the city.

The Church of Santa Maria Novella is one of the most famous Florentine basilicas, and sits opposite the city’s main railway terminus named after it. Consecrated in 1420, this Dominican church is home to a number of fabulous Gothic and early Renaissance frescoes.

Another ecclesiastical treasure in the area is the Santa Maria Maggiore of Florence (not to be confused with the church in Rome of the same name), which is one of the oldest extant churches in the city and dates back to the 11th century.

Santa Maria Novella apartments in Florence tend to quite compact due to the age of the buildings, but offer fantastic access to bars, restaurants, transport, and, of course, the spectacular basilica. The average price for a 2-bedroom apartment in this area is around €1,100 per month.

Due to high volume of historical sites and proximity to the Santa Maria Novella Florence train station, the area can get incredibly busy with tourists and commuters. Certainly bear this in mind if you’re considering apartments in the area.

San Lorenzo Apartments

If you want to be in the thick of Florentine action, we recommend staying near the Piazza San Lorenzo. With a thriving daily market on the streets surrounding the nearby Basilica di San Lorenzo and the main food market only a short walk away, you’ll be close to a hive of trading activity.

The famous San Lorenzo Florence market is one of the finest of its kind in Italy. The market actually consists of two separate markets: the two-level indoor Mercato Centrale selling a variety of delicious Tuscan foods, and an outdoor market that sells a smorgasbord of goods including leather, clothing, souvenirs and pottery.

The irrepressible Basilica di San Lorenzo that looms over the outdoor market is one of several churches in Florence that claim to be the oldest in the city, and was originally consecrated in 393. The church has been rebuilt many times; financed by patrons such as the Medici family who infamously ruled the city throughout the Renaissance era. Inside the building are famous works by revered Renaissance artists Verrocchio and Donatello.

Like in other parts of the historic city centre, apartments in San Lorenzo tend to archaic in composition. The majority are fitted with modern interiors, however, and come equipped with standard amenities such as air conditioning. Prices are similar to those in Santa Maria.

Apartments in Florence Centre

Set within the avenues traced on the old medieval walls, the historic centre of Florence is the location of the city’s most important cultural heritage sites.

This area is actually quite small, and is easily walkable in 30 minutes. Within this walk you’ll be treated to most of the major sites that the city has to offer, including the towering Duomo (dome) of Florence Cathedral, the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio.

The city centre can get extremely busy at times, especially on weekends. However, you’ll be pleased to know that the area is largely pedestrianised and closed off to traffic except for residents, taxis and buses. For the keen walkers and cyclists among you, this is certainly good news.

Apartments in the city centre are readily available. Prices for a decent furnished apartment can range anywhere between €650 and €1,400 - depending on a number of variables such as number of bedrooms, floor space, number of amenities/appliances and real estate value of the neighbourhoods it is located in. If you want to live near to nightlife, we recommend the lively Santa Croce area. If you’re looking for somewhere a bit more serene, keep an eye out for apartments near the splendid Giardino della Gherardesca (the Gherardesca Gardens).

Getting from Florence ‘Peretola’ Airport to the city centre is relatively straightforward. The easiest way to get there is via taxi, and luckily this route has established fixed rates of between €20 to €23 (expect to pay more on holidays). Alternatively, a special shuttle bus runs every half an hour from 06:00 to 23:30 to and from Florence city centre train station, and the journey usually takes 20-25 minutes. This bus costs €6 for a single.

Apartments near Piazza Santa Croce

When people picture living in beautiful Florence, imagination will automatically have you opening your front door with the Piazza Santa Croce in the background. One of the most picturesque areas of the city, it is dominated by the largest Franciscan Basilica in the world. It is buzzing day and night with tourists and locals milling around – with countless bars, restaurants and cafes all spilling out into the grand Piazza – you would do well to find a more cosmopolitan setting anywhere else in the world.

1, 2 & 3 Room Apartments for Rent in Florence

1-Bedroom Apartments in Florence

Florentine apartments are among the most magical in the whole of Italy, often set in majestic old buildings but having luxurious modern touches inside. If you are ok with the apartment being a little more snug, and taking advantage of where you are living, look for one-bedroom apartments closer to the city center – prices will start at around €900 for a furnished apartment – ready for you to move in.

2-Bedroom Apartments in Florence

A two-bedroom apartment is often that perfect compromise between having a manageable home, but still having that extra space to make yourself feel comfortable. This space can come at a bit of a premium in stunning Firenze however, especially the closer to the heartbeat of the city you go. In perhaps one of the most sought-after districts, Santa Maria Novella, an average 2-bedroom apartment can rent from €1100 a month.

3-Bedroom Apartments in Florence

As opposed to one or two-bedroom apartments – the availability of flats with three bedrooms is not as widespread. That doesn't mean that they aren't there however, it's just you might have to be a bit more flexible when finding that dream apartment. Prices are expensive with a more modern apartment in a good area of Florence starting at €1500, but if you are looking to flat share and split the rent three ways – you could find that perfect place.

Student Accommodation in Florence

Florence has one of the most esteemed university systems in Italy, with institutions for various fields in both the humanities and the sciences. The largest public university is the University of Florence, which was founded way back in 1321 and has 60,000 students (of whom many are international). With festivals, nightlife, cuisine, art and culture, studying in Florence is sure to be a memorable experience.

Most student apartments in Florence are clustered around the main campus or are located in the historic city centre. Around the city centre, the majority of apartments are set within charming old Tuscan buildings and fitted with all the modern amenities. Modern, more spacious apartments are also widely available, although these tend to be located outside the city centre.

There are three primary options when it comes to student housing in Florence: renting a room, sharing an apartment or finding accommodation in student halls. Most of the student halls are located north of the city centre and are well connected to the rest of the city.

For a great selection of Florence student apartment rentals on a mid to long basis, Nestpick is the place for you.


Public Transportation in Florence

Public transportation in Florence, Italy is widely used and services the vast majority of the city. Florence’s main station - the Santa Maria Novella - is situated in the northwestern corner of the city centre and provides hourly trains to Bologna, Milan, Venice, Rome and Naples. Before you board a train, ensure your ticket is already stamped.

If you’re looking to explore other hill town destinations in Tuscany and Umbria, buses are probably your best bet - providing cheaper and more frequent ways to get to places off the beaten track.

There are bus routes all over the city, and buses are regular and inexpensive. Like trains, you must buy your ticket before you get on the bus, and these can be purchased from ticket machines in stations and kiosks. A single fare costs €1.20, although travelcards can also be purchased if you’re going to use buses frequently. Buses are air conditioned, run regularly and have real-time updates of arrival times.

It’s worth noting that travelling via bus can sometimes be a frustrating experience. Routes are often diverted and make the journey longer, while buses can be packed to the brim at rush hour. There’s also no overnight bus service, so you’ll have to use another transport option if you are out late.

Florence also has a single tram line, the T1, which links the city’s only tram station Via Alamanni (nearby to Santa Maria Novella) to the suburbs of Scandicci. The tram service calls at 14 stops and takes 25 minutes to travel end-to-end.

Taxis in Florence are fairly expensive and cannot be hailed, so you should certainly book in advance if you wish to take a taxi to your preferred destination - whether through a telephone call or by booking at a taxi stand.

Average Price Index: