San Francisco

Tausend möblierte Mietwohnungen zum Online Buchen

Verfügbare Wohnungen:

Studio: 9
1 Schlafzimmer Wohnungen: 32

Preis:

Wohnungen ab : 1900.00 €

Möblierte Wohnungen in San Francisco

Die „Stadt an der Bucht“ oder im Englischen auch „the City by the Bay“ ist eine der ikonischsten Städte der Welt. Dort finden Sie nicht nur atemberaubende Sehenswürdigkeiten und rund um den Globus bekannte Unternehmen, sondern erleben auch genau die Stadt, die in den 1960ern und 1970ern das Zentrum des liberalen Aktivismus war.

Natürlich gibt es in San Francisco Wohnungen in allen Formen und Größen. Es ist ganz egal, ob Sie nach einem Stadthaus mit toller Aussicht oder nach einer Eigentumswohnung mit Ausblick auf den Jachthafen suchen – in dieser Stadt werden Sie definitiv nicht enttäuscht.

Obwohl San Francisco die Stadt mit den höchsten Mietpreisen in den USA ist, kann man trotzdem erschwingliche Wohnungen finden. Wenn Sie sich beispielsweise dafür entscheiden, nur ein Zimmer zu mieten, kann das Ihre monatlichen Kosten enorm senken und Ihnen gleichzeitig dabei helfen, neue Freunde zu finden.

Wenn Sie nach San Francisco umziehen möchten, sollten Sie auch die richtige Wohngegend finden. Mit der besten Auswahl an möblierten Mietwohnungen im Internet ist Nestpick der richtige Ansprechpartner. Wählen Sie aus, was Ihre neue Unterkunft bieten soll, und schon sind Sie auf dem besten Weg zur Golden Gate Bridge.

Serviced und Corporate Apartments in San Francisco

Als wohlhabendes, kulturell florierendes Wirtschaftszentrum bietet San Francisco natürlich auch Serviced Apartments und Corporate Apartments.

Die Serviced Apartments in San Francisco sind komplett möbliert und sowohl für kurzfristige als auch langfristige Aufenthalte verfügbar. Dort werden Ihnen Annehmlichkeiten geboten, die Sie sonst eher aus Hotels kennen werden. Dazu gehören Einrichtungen wie Fitnessstudios, Swimmingpools, Fuhrparks, Sicherheitsdienste und sogar Tennisplätze. Leistungen wie WLAN, Wäscheservice und Zimmerservice sind üblich. Die meisten Serviced Apartments befinden sich nahe der Innenstadt oder in den wohlhabenden Gebieten rund um die Küste der Bucht.

Die meisten Corporate Apartments in San Francisco sind vergleichsweise modern und mit ähnlichen Annehmlichkeiten ausgestattet wie die Serviced Apartments. Oft befinden sie sich in luxuriösen Hochhäusern, die in der Nähe der wichtigsten Geschäftszentren der Stadt stehen. Deshalb sollten Sie auch damit rechnen, hierfür deutlich mehr zu zahlen, als für normale möblierte Apartments in diesen Gebieten.

Besondere Immobilien

1,618 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in 9th Avenue, 94122

9th Avenue, 94122

10 Dec 2017
1 Room

2,117 €
Roomster

1-Zimmer Wohnung in 3500 Market St, 94131

3500 Market St, 94131

7 Dec 2017
1 Room

2,222 €
Only-apartments

Studio in Lee Avenue, San Francisco

Lee Avenue, San Francisco

 
7 Jan 2018
1 Room
37 m2

1,277 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Santiago Street, 94116

Santiago Street, 94116

25 Aug 2017
2 Room

2,784 €
Only-apartments

Studio in Clay Street, San Francisco

Clay Street, San Francisco

 
13 Dec 2017
1 Room

1,355 €
Roomster

Zimmer in Geary Blvd & 33rd Ave, 94121

Geary Blvd & 33rd Ave, 94121

2 Jan 2018
1 Room

Alles anzeigen

Neueste Wohnungen

1,064 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Baker Street, 94115

Baker Street, 94115

30 Jan 2018
1 Room

1,954 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Jones Street, 94109

Jones Street, 94109

2 Feb 2018
1 Room

1,162 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Geary Boulevard, 94118

Geary Boulevard, 94118

11 Dec 2017
1 Room

85 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in 19th Avenue, 94132

19th Avenue, 94132

11 Dec 2017
1 Room

1,192 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Anderson Street, 94110

Anderson Street, 94110

1 Jan 2018
1 Room

1,618 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in 9th Avenue, 94122

9th Avenue, 94122

10 Dec 2017
1 Room

Alles anzeigen

Besondere Wohnungen

1,618 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in 9th Avenue, 94122

9th Avenue, 94122

10 Dec 2017
1 Room

2,117 €
Roomster

1-Zimmer Wohnung in 3500 Market St, 94131

3500 Market St, 94131

7 Dec 2017
1 Room

2,222 €
Only-apartments

Studio in Lee Avenue, San Francisco

Lee Avenue, San Francisco

 
7 Jan 2018
1 Room
37 m2

1,277 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Santiago Street, 94116

Santiago Street, 94116

25 Aug 2017
2 Room

2,784 €
Only-apartments

Studio in Clay Street, San Francisco

Clay Street, San Francisco

 
13 Dec 2017
1 Room

1,355 €
Roomster

Zimmer in Geary Blvd & 33rd Ave, 94121

Geary Blvd & 33rd Ave, 94121

2 Jan 2018
1 Room

Alles anzeigen

Besondere Zimmer

1,618 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in 9th Avenue, 94122

9th Avenue, 94122

10 Dec 2017
1 Room

2,117 €
Roomster

1-Zimmer Wohnung in 3500 Market St, 94131

3500 Market St, 94131

7 Dec 2017
1 Room

2,222 €
Only-apartments

Studio in Lee Avenue, San Francisco

Lee Avenue, San Francisco

 
7 Jan 2018
1 Room
37 m2

1,277 €
EasyRoommate

Zimmer in Santiago Street, 94116

Santiago Street, 94116

25 Aug 2017
2 Room

2,784 €
Only-apartments

Studio in Clay Street, San Francisco

Clay Street, San Francisco

 
13 Dec 2017
1 Room

1,355 €
Roomster

Zimmer in Geary Blvd & 33rd Ave, 94121

Geary Blvd & 33rd Ave, 94121

2 Jan 2018
1 Room

Alles anzeigen

Wohnungen in San Francisco nach Stadtvierteln

Genau wie alle großen Städte ist San Francisco in eine Reihe von einzigartigen Gegenden und Vierteln unterteilt. Von The Castro, das kulturell mindestens genauso bunt wie ein Regenbogen ist, bis hin zum exklusiven, wohlhabenden Pacific Heights finden Sie hier alles – und vor allem jede Menge positive Überraschungen.

Die Stadt bietet zwar viele Wohnmöglichkeiten, aber allein aufgrund dieser Vielfalt kann die Auswahl schnell einschüchternd wirken, wenn Sie sich mit der Stadt und den Preisen nicht auskennen. Wissen Sie noch nicht, wo Sie hin möchten? Mit Nestpick können Sie Ihre Suche filtern und möblierte Wohnungen finden, die in Sachen Lage, Preis und Größe zu Ihnen passen. So können Sie die besten Kandidaten auswählen und sich dann nach Belieben für ein Viertel, eine Wohnung und den monatlichen Mietpreis entscheiden.

Attraktive Wohngegenden in San Francisco

Wohnungen in SoMa

SoMa (oder auch South of Market Street) ist eine relativ große Gegend, die seit dem Internetboom der 1990er eine echte Wandlung durchgemacht hat. Früher handelte es sich hierbei um ein sehr industrielles Gebiet, aber mittlerweile wurden die Lagerhallen in Lofts, Restaurants, elegante Bars, Galerien und auch Wohnungen umgewandelt. Das hat wiederum viele technisch versierte Unternehmer und talentierte Künstler angelockt. Wussten Sie, dass Twitter hier seinen Hauptsitz hat? Das sagt schon Vieles aus!

Der Gegend hängt immer noch ein schäbiger und derber Ruf an, der allerdings veraltet ist. Heutzutage bietet SoMa einige der besten Museen, Spezialitätenläden und Craft Beer-Lokale, die San Francisco zu bieten hat. Wenn Sie ein echter Gourmet sind, dann werden Sie sich wie im Paradies fühlen. Sie werden überall Food Trucks erblicken, die zu den besten Street Kitchens überhaupt gehören und Ihnen Gerichte aus den verschiedensten internationalen Küchen servieren. Von mexikanischen Speisen bis hin zu vietnamesischen Spezialitäten wird Ihnen hier alles geboten.

Die Sportsfreunde unter Ihnen werden sich freuen, dass das ikonische Zuhause der San Francisco Giants, der AT&T Park, direkt vor der Tür liegt. Wer architektonisch interessiert ist, wird aus der Bewunderung des Salesforce Towers gar nicht mehr herauskommen. Dieser wird gerade gebaut und ist das zweithöchste Gebäude westlich des Mississippi – ein ganz eigener Gigant, wenn man so will.

In SoMa gibt es eine Vielzahl an Mietwohnungen zur Auswahl. Wenn Sie nach etwas Modernem suchen, finden Sie hier vor allem in Richtung China Basin und South Beach reihenweise künstlerisch designte Lofts, Wohnungen in Hochhäusern und Eigentumswohnungen.

Die durchschnittliche Monatsmiete liegt in SoMa bei 3.650 $. Das wirkt vielleicht erst einmal hoch, ist aber immer noch günstiger als in anderen Vierteln.

Wohnungen in Mission Bay

Mission Bay ist eine moderne, von Tag zu Tag angesagtere Gegend, die sich langsam aber sicher einen Namen macht. Im Sonnenschein glitzerndes Wasser begleitet Sie von der namensgebenden Bucht bis hin zu Mission Creek und sorgt dafür, dass man sich hier wie in einer Oase inmitten der urbanen Chaos fühlt. Und mit all den offenen Bereichen und den Plänen für die Zukunft kommen Sie genau zur rechten Zeit hierher.

Die University of California hat Ihr medizinisches Zentrum 2003 in dieses Gebiet verlegt und damit eine Expansion begonnen, die immer mehr Studenten und Berufstätige anzieht. Mission Bay ist vielleicht nicht so gastronomisch vielfältig oder kulturell facettenreich wie Haight-Ashbury oder Mission, aber momentan sprießen neue und interessante Restaurants an der Küste aus dem Boden.

Das Gebiet ist auf eine ruhige Art und Weise gelassen und damit der perfekte Ort für friedliche Picknicks an der Bucht. Bedenken Sie aber, dass der AT&T Park direkt auf der anderen Seite des Mission Creek liegt, also sollten Sie an Spieltagen mit Scharen von Baseballfans rechnen.

Die Wohnungen in Mission Bay befinden sich vor allem in modernen, stylischen Gebäudekomplexen und sind mit standardmäßigen Annehmlichkeiten wie Klimaanlage und Heizung ausgestattet. Da die Gegend so nah an SoMa und der Küste liegt und obendrein noch hochwertige Unterkünfte bietet, sind die Mietwohnungen hier auch eher teuer. Eine durchschnittliche Monatsmiete in Mission Bay oder Dogpatch kostet etwa 3.620 Euro.

Für die beste Auswahl an Apartments zur Miete in Mission Bay, San Francisco, stöbern Sie einfach durch unseren umfassenden Katalog.

Wohnungen in North Beach

Die moderne Gegend North Beach ist das literarische Mekka von San Francisco. Hier finden Sie den weltberühmten City Lights Bookstore, der einst ein Treffpunkt für Beatnik-Berühmtheiten wie Ginsberg, Kerouac und Ferlinghetti war. Außerdem befinden sich hier viele angenehme Coffee Shops und ausgelassene Bars. Das alternative, fortschrittliche Gefühl in der Luft sorgt dafür, dass Sie hier viele interessante Menschen sehen und treffen werden, während Sie in aller Ruhe einen Espresso in North Beach trinken.

Diese ausdrucksstarke Nachbarschaft bietet eine stark an Italien erinnernde Atmosphäre, was sich auch in den Restaurants widerspiegelt. Die Straßen werden von Ristorantes und Pizzerias gesäumt, während aus den Cafeterias ganz in der Nähe ein Aroma von Schokolade strömt. Wenn Sie gern ein, zwei Drinks genießen, dann sollten Sie sich die Café-Bar Vesuvio ansehen, die eine echte Schatzkiste voller Erinnerungsstücke an die Beat-Generation und unvergesslicher Gespräche ist.

Falls Ihnen eher der Sinn nach etwas Erholung von dem geschäftigen Treiben steht, dann bietet North Beach auch jede Menge Grünflächen für Sie. Der Washington Square Park ist ein besonders bekannter und beliebter Ort der Gemeinschaft, der sich wunderbar für Sonntagsspaziergänge, morgendliches Jogging oder malerische Picknicks eignet.

Suchen Sie nach Mietwohnungen in San Franciscos North Beach? Mit Nestpick wird Ihre Suche sehr viel leichter. Unsere breite Auswahl an Wohnungen in North Beach bietet etwas für jeden. Da spielt es keine Rolle, ob Sie berufstätig sind und Kinder haben oder ob Sie studieren und nach etwas Erschwinglichem und Spaßigem suchen.

Wenn Sie in North Beach leben möchten, dann sollten Sie mit etwa 3.400 $ Miete pro Monat rechnen.

Wohnungen in der Stadtmitte von San Francisco

Mit der hohen Dichte an kulturellen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Shoppinggelegenheiten ist dieses weltoffene, kompakte Viertel leicht zu Fuß zu durchqueren und steht für das bürgerliche Herz von San Francisco. Was der Stadtmitte an flächenmäßiger Größe fehlt, gleicht Sie durch innere Größe aus.

Dieser kulturelle Schmelztiegel ist gut angebunden, voller Touristen und bietet eine Vielfalt an unglaublichen Restaurants – Ihnen wird also für alle Sinne etwas geboten! Bemerkenswerte Sehenswürdigkeiten sind beispielsweise der Ferry Building Marketplace, das War Memorial Opera House, eine Menge erstklassiger Galerien und Museen sowie die sofort erkennbare TransAmerica Pyramid (die früher einmal das höchste Gebäude der Stadt war). Wir könnten noch mehr aufzählen, aber ein Teil des Charmes sind die vielen Überraschungen, die Sie im Zentrum von San Francisco hinter jeder Ecke erwarten. Das wollen wir Ihnen nicht verderben.

Wohnungen im Zentrum von San Francisco liegen vor allem in Hochhäusern und sind dank der enormen Nachfrage sehr schnell wieder vom Markt. Wenn Sie ernsthaft über Mietwohnungen in der Stadtmitte von San Francisco nachdenken, müssen Sie eventuell etwas Geduld mitbringen.

Es ist wohl kaum verwunderlich, dass die Stadtmitte zu den teuersten Gebieten der Stadt gehört. Die monatliche Miete im Finanzviertel kostet etwa 3.600 $. Dagegen sind die Mietkosten im unweit entfernten Nob Hill und Chinatown mit durchschnittlich 3.000 $ oder 3.150 $ deutlich erschwinglicher.

Wohnungen in Marina

Das Viertel Marina liegt direkt an der Bucht. Diese wunderschöne Nachbarschaft bietet einige der besten Shops, Boutiquen, Restaurants, Bars und Grünflächen, die die Stadt zu bieten hat. Mit einem unübertroffenen Ausblick auf die prachtvolle Golden Gate Bridge, die malerischen Jachthäfen, die Insel Alcatraz und den hohen Berg an der Bucht ist Marina auch ein echter Augenschmaus.

Tagsüber bietet diese hügelige Gegend einen angenehmen Ausgleich zum Wahnsinn der Stadtmitte. Hier sehen Sie keine Geschäftsmänner mit Aktenkoffer und Smartphone in der Hand, sondern nur Jogger, Hundebesitzer, Spaziergänger und Picknicker, die alle inmitten der üppigen Grünflächen Ihrem Leben nachgehen. Gleichzeitig beeindruckt die Kaffeekultur der Gegend. Könnten Sie einem Plätzchen an der Bucht widerstehen?

Nachts wird Marina erst richtig lebendig. In diesem Viertel hat sich eine trendige Barszene entwickelt, sodass dieses Gebiet zu dem Dreh- und Angelpunkt für die coolen Einwohner von San Francisco geworden ist. Hier sammeln sich junge Berufstätige an Orten wie dem Tipsy Pig, um nach einer langen Woche im Büro abzuschalten. Erst die Arbeit, dann das Vergnügen. Und falls nach einigen Cosmopolitans der kleine Hunger kommt, werden Sie in Marina genügend Mitternachtssnacks finden.

Falls Sie gerne in das Viertel Marina von San Francisco ziehen möchten, stehen Ihnen einige Wohnungen zur Auswahl. Ein Großteil der Gebäude sind in einem idyllischen, älteren Stil erbaut worden, bieten dafür aber umso moderne Inneneinrichtungen. Standardmäßige Annehmlichkeiten wie Klimaanlagen gehören natürlich dazu. Generell lässt sich sagen, dass die Wohnungen teurer werden, je näher Sie an der Bucht wohnen.

Obwohl Marina einen Ruf als elegantes Viertel der Extraklasse hat, sind die Mieten sogar günstiger als in den umliegenden Gegenden. Der durchschnittliche Preis liegt hier bei etwa 3.200 $. Bei Nestpick finden Sie die beste Auswahl an Mietwohnungen im Viertel Marina von San Francisco.

Studentenunterkünfte in San Francisco

Dank einer Reihe von fantastischen Universitäten und Bildungseinrichtungen ist San Francisco ein großartiger Ort zum Lernen und Studieren.

Für Studenten gibt es hier mehrere Wohnmöglichkeiten. Die meisten Studenten wohnen entweder in Studentenwohnheimen, privaten Hostels oder in Privatwohnungen. Eine Wohngemeinschaft schlägt mit etwa 1.000 $ pro Monat zu Buche.

Die teuerste Unterkunft für Studenten in San Francisco ist immer noch eine eigene Wohnung, die ab 2.700 $ zu haben ist (die Preise variieren je nach Lage, Alter, Größe und Stil der Wohnung sowie Zugang zu den örtlichen Einrichtungen).

Studentenunterkünfte sind über die ganze Stadt verteilt, wobei sich die meisten aber praktischerweise um die diversen Campus der Universitäten sammeln.

Mit Nestpick steht Ihnen ein fantastisches Angebot für Studentenunterkünfte in San Francisco offen.

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel in San Francisco

Als Heimat von Uber und Lyft hat San Francisco sicher einen ziemlich berechtigen Anspruch auf den Titel Taxi-Hauptstadt der Welt (mach Platz, New York City!). Aber natürlich bietet das öffentliche Verkehrssystem von San Francisco jede Menge Alternativen die zuverlässig sind und weniger kosten als Taxis.

Trotzdem sind genau diese Taxis aber der schnellste Weg, um von der Stadt zum Flughafen zu kommen. Busse sind mit einem Preis von nur 2 $ die mit Abstand günstigste Möglichkeit.

Wenn Sie das perfekte Verhältnis von Kosten und Geschwindigkeit finden wollen, sind Züge wohl Ihre beste Wahl. Die Reise vom Flughafen dauert etwa 45 Minuten und kostet Sie etwa 9 $.

Sobald Sie erst einmal in der Stadt angekommen sind, wird es Ihnen nicht schwerfallen, dass öffentliche Verkehrsnetz von San Francisco zu durchschauen. Es ist leicht verständlich und besteht aus einer vielfältigen Mischung aus Zügen, U-Bahnen, Bussen, Straßenbahnen, Fähren und Feldbahnen.

Dabei wird Ihnen auch die Abkürzung BART begegnen. Sie steht für Bay Area Rapid Transit und bezeichnet San Franciscos älter werdenden, aber noch immer voll funktionsfähigen Schienen- und U-Bahn-Service. Dieser besteht aus einer einzigen Linie, die sich mit mehreren Haltestellen durch die ganze Stadt zieht. Damit fährt Sie vom Flughafen über das Finanzviertel bis hin zu den anderen Teilen der Bucht wie Oakland. Der Preis dafür richtet sich nach der Distanz, die Sie fahren möchten, und beginnt bei 1,85 $ für eine Haltestelle.

MUNI steht hingegen für das Netzwerk aus Feld- und U-Bahnen und verbindet die südlichen und westlichen Stadtteile mit der Stadtmitte, wo Sie auf BART oder Caltrain wechseln können. Für eine Reise von 90 Minuten zahlen Sie hier 2,25 $.

San Francisco

Thousands of furnished rentals to book online

Compare:

Available Apartments:

1 bedroom apartments :810
2 bedroom apartments :125
3 bedroom apartments :56
Studio :31

Furnished Apartments in San Francisco

Apartments, Sublets & Rooms in San Francisco

Home to a number of breathtaking landmarks and world-renowned companies - in addition to being the center of liberal activism in the 1960s and 1970s - the City by the Bay is one of the most iconic cities on Earth.

San Francisco apartments come in all shapes and sizes. Whether you’re after a townhouse with a view or a new-build condo overlooking the marina, you won’t be disappointed with the accommodation options this eclectic city has to offer.

Although San Francisco is the most expensive city for rent in the United States, it’s still possible to find somewhere to live on a budget. Looking for rooms for rent in San Francisco can significantly reduce your monthly budget, and you’ll make new friends in the process!

If you’re going to San Francisco, be sure to choose a place that’s right for you. With the best selection of furnished apartments for rent in San Francisco on the internet, Nestpick has you covered. Tailor your accommodation search to suit your needs, and direct yourself straight to your future Golden Gate home.

Serviced & Corporate Apartments in San Francisco

As a wealthy, thriving cultural and business hub, San Francisco has its fair share of serviced apartments and corporate apartments.

Serviced apartments in San Francisco are fully furnished and available for both short-term and long-term stays, providing the kind of amenities you’d find in a hotel. Many often include facilities such as a gym, swimming pool, car park, security and even tennis courts. Services like WiFi, laundry and room service are commonly included. Most serviced apartments are located around downtown or in the affluent neighbourhoods that hug the shoreline of the Bay.

Most available corporate apartments in San Francisco are relatively modern and fitted with a similar number of standard amenities to serviced apartments. More often than not these are set within luxury high-rise complexes and are in close proximity to the city’s primary business areas. As such, you should expect to pay substantially more than a standard furnished apartment in a similar district.





Featured Properties

$4,409
Sublet.com

Apartment 1 bedrooms in Mission District

$2,911
Zeus

Conveniently located SOMA Studio

$1,297
Roomi

Room in Brookvale

$6,000
San Francisco Life

NORTH BEACH GEM NEAR WASHINGTON SQUARE PARK

$8,991
HomeAway

Spacious Oceanside Vacation Flat

$4,259
HomeAway

Chic 1BR in SoMA

Show all properties

Recent properties

$1,750
EasyRoommate

Spacious private bedroom in Downtown SF

$775
Roomster

SHARED ROOM IN NOB HILL

$1,075
Roomi

Room in Produce and Waterfront

$1,750
Roomi

Room in Edenvale

$2,150
Roomi

Room in Mission District

$1,625
Roomi

Room in Bernal Heights

Show all properties

Featured Apartments

$4,409
Sublet.com

Apartment 1 bedrooms in Mission District

$2,911
Zeus

Conveniently located SOMA Studio

$6,000
San Francisco Life

NORTH BEACH GEM NEAR WASHINGTON SQUARE PARK

$4,174
Sublet.com

House 3 bedrooms in Noe Valley

$8,991
HomeAway

Spacious Oceanside Vacation Flat

$4,259
HomeAway

Chic 1BR in SoMA

Show all properties

Featured Rooms

$1,297
Roomi

Room in Brookvale

$882
Sublet.com

Room for rent in Ingleside

$1,094
Roomster

UC Berkeley Student Housing 2C

$1,244
Roomi

Room in Central San Jose

$643
Roomster

Private room w/ dedicated bath house in sf bay

$3,674
EasyRoommate

Balboa Park Upper

Show all properties

Apartments under $2,000 San Francisco

San Francisco is one of the most sought-after places to live in the USA, add that to the fact that there really is a limited amount of land to build on in 'The City' and the result is some of the most expensive rental prices in the USA and the world. As a result of this, if you are looking for a one-bedroom apartment under $2,000 you may be looking for a long time. The best bet would be to find a studio in an older building, as older apartments are still under rent control agreements you may be able to find a bargain.

Will San Francisco Rent Go Down?

It doesn't look like rental prices in San Francisco will go down anytime soon unfortunately, while in other cities expansion and gentrification into other areas increases the number of rental apartments – there is a very limited area of land in San Francisco and so this new inventory of apartments will never really arrive. It is also an area where rent control works against the renter. If a landlord decreases the rent, then they cannot increase the amount for the length of the lease – and as such a lot of landlords are unwilling to do so. Unless there is another large recession, expect prices to stay high, and even then, prices won't decrease as much as they should.

San Francisco Apartments by District

As with any major city, San Francisco is divided into a number of unique neighbourhoods and districts. From the rainbow-coloured culture of The Castro to the upmarket, residential affluence of Pacific Heights - and everywhere in between - San Francisco is packed with surprises.

Although the city is replete with a broad range of housing options, it can often be quite daunting if you’re unfamiliar its geography and prices. Unsure where to live? With Nestpick, you’ll be able to filter your search to look for furnished accommodation in areas of your choice, at a price and size that suits you. This will help you pick out down the best candidates and choose a neighbourhood, apartment and monthly rental price that suits your lifestyle down to a tee.

More Attractive Areas for Apartments in San Francisco

SoMa Apartments

SoMa, or South of Market Street, is a relatively large neighbourhood that’s undergone something of a transformation since the dotcom boom of the 1990s. Formerly a heavily industrial area, SoMa’s warehouses have been converted into lofts, restaurants, swanky bars, gallery spaces and even flats - causing an influx of tech-savvy entrepreneurs and artsy hipsters. Twitter even has its headquarters here, and that’s certainly worth a mention.

Despite the area’s outdated reputation for being dingy and tough, SoMa now offers some of the best museums, specialty shops and craft beer joints that San Francisco has to offer. And if you’re a foodie, you’ll be in heaven. Food trucks are everywhere, offering some of the finest street dining in a range of cuisines: from Mexican to Vietnamese and most cultures in between.

The sports fans among you will have the iconic home of the San Francisco Giants - AT&T Park - right on your doorstep. And for the architects among you, you’ll be in awe of the Salesforce Tower - currently being constructed but now the second tallest building west of the Mississippi River. Giants indeed.

There are a wide range of apartments for rent in SoMa, San Francisco. If you’re looking for something modern, there are scores of arty loft spaces, high-rise apartments and condos in SoMa, especially towards China Basin and South Beach.

The average monthly rent in SoMa stands at $3,650. While this may appear expensive, it’s still cheaper than other districts.

Mission Bay Apartments

Mission Bay is a contemporary, up-and-coming neighbourhood that’s slowly but surely starting to make a name for itself. With glistening water accompanying you from the Bay to Mission Creek, this aquatic area feels like an oasis in the urban chaos. And, with plenty of open spaces and plans for development, you’ll be moving here just at the right time.

The University of California, San Francisco moved its Medical Center to the area in 2003, and the expansion this set in motion is starting to attract a growing number of students and professionals. Mission Bay might not be as foodie-inclined or as culturally rich as areas such as Haight-Ashbury or Mission, but a number of interesting restaurants are starting to spring up along the waterfront.

Right now, the area is quietly serene and perfect for a peaceful picnic by the Bay. However, AT&T Park is located just across Mission Creek - so expect to encounter throngs of baseball fans on game day!

Mission Bay apartments are predominantly set within modern, stylish flat complexes, and come equipped with standard amenities such as air conditioning and heating. Due to the area’s proximity to SoMa and the waterfront as well as the quality of most accommodation, apartments here tend to be on the pricey side - an average month’s rent in the Mission Bay/Dogpatch area costs around $3,620.

For the best selection of Mission Bay, San Francisco apartments for rent, browse our extensive catalogue now.

North Beach Apartments

The hip neighbourhood of North Beach is San Francisco’s literary mecca. Here you’ll find the world-famous City Lights Bookstore - once the meeting place of Beatnik luminaries such as Ginsberg, Kerouac and Ferlinghetti - as well as a host of cute coffee shop and boisterous bars. The area’s alternative, avant garde feel ensures you’ll see a host of characters dotted along the sidewalks - making North Beach the perfect place for an espresso and a spot of people watching.

This expressive neighbourhood has a distinctly Italian feel, and the sumptuous dining on offer certainly reflects this. Ristorantes and pizzerias line the streets, while chocolatey aromas emanate from cafeterias nearby. If you fancy a drink or two, a popular neighbourhood hotspot is the Vesuvio Cafe bar, which is a veritable treasure trove of Beat Generation memorabilia and unforgettable conversations.

If you require a reprieve from all the hustle and bustle, North Beach has plenty of green spaces to let you breathe. Washington Square Park is a particularly prominent community focal point, and is perfect for Sunday strolls, early morning jogs or a picturesque picnic.

Looking for apartments for rent in North Beach, San Francisco? With Nestpick, your search just got a hell of a lot easier. Our wide selection of North Beach apartments has something for everybody - whether you’re a professional with kids or a student looking for something cheap and cheerful. Beat that.

If your heart is set on living in North Beach, expect to pay around $3,400 per month for rent.

Downtown San Francisco Apartments

With a high concentration of cultural relics and shopping opportunities, this compact, cosmopolitan neighbourhood is easily navigable on foot and represents the civic heart of San Franciscan life. What downtown lacks in size it certainly makes up for in character.

Well-connected, packed with tourists and with an impossibly large number of incredible restaurants, this cultural melting pot will arouse all your senses. Notable attractions here include the Ferry Building Marketplace, the War Memorial Opera House, a ton of world-class galleries and museums and the instantly recognisable TransAmerica Pyramid (formerly the city’s tallest building). We could go on, but part of the charm of central San Francisco is the number of surprises that await you around every corner. And we wouldn’t want to spoil that.

Downtown San Francisco apartments are predominantly based in high rise buildings, and the high demand on real estate means available accommodation gets snapped up very quickly. If you’re seriously considering apartments for rent in downtown San Francisco, you’ll have to have enough budget and make be ready for a quick decision.

Unsurprisingly, downtown is among the more expensive parts of the city to live. Monthly rent in the Financial District, for example, costs around $3,600. However, rental costs are significantly cheaper in nearby Nob Hill and Chinatown, where they average around $3,000 and $3,150 respectively.

Marina Apartments

Nestled right on the edge of the Bay, the Marina District is a gorgeous neighbourhood that offers some of the finest shops, boutiques, restaurants, bars and verdant greenery that the city has to offer. With unsurpassed views of the mighty Golden Gate Bridge, picturesque yacht clubs, Alcatraz Island and towering mountains across the Bay, Marina is certainly pleasing on the eye.

During the day, this hilly area offers a pleasant retreat from the madness of downtown - joggers, dog-walkers, strollers and picnickers all mingle seamlessly in its lush green spaces. Meanwhile, the neighbourhood’s cafe culture continues to impress - who could resist a spot of Bayside brunch?

By night, Marina really comes alive. A trendy bar-hopping culture has emerged, and the area becomes a hive of activity for the San Franciscan cool crowd. Young professionals flock to places such as the Tipsy Pig for a spot of weekend unwinding after a long week in the office. Work hard, play hard. And, if you’re still peckish after a few Cosmopolitans, Marina’s many late-night diners will have you covered.

If you’re looking to live in the Marina District of San Francisco, apartments come in a range of options. The majority of buildings are in a quaint old style but with modern interiors, and come equipped with standard amenities such as air conditioning. Generally speaking, the closer you are to the Bay, the pricier the apartment.

Despite the Marina District’s reputation for being high-end and sophisticated, monthly rent is actually cheaper than surrounding neighbourhoods, with the average price somewhere around $3,200. For the best selection of apartments for rent in the Marina District of San Francisco, look no further than Nestpick.

Apartments for rent in Sunset District, San Francisco

Historically the place for more working-class people to live when prices in the city got too expensive, the Sunset District is becoming one of the more popular places to live in San Francisco. While buildings in San Franciso proper are more apartments, Sunset has a lot of single family homes – something of a rarity in the city and as such, more and more people are moving to this still reasonably affordable part of town. The lower rents also brought in the bohemian artists on San Francisco, starting the prices of gentrification making this a very attractive place to call home.

Studio, 1, 2 & 3 Room Apartments for Rent in Barcelona

Studio Apartments

As you will have heard by now, rent in San Francisco is among the highest in the USA, and you will need to pay sky-high prices even in areas a fair way out of the city itself. Studio apartments are no different. Whilst they give you the space and independence that having a roommate doesn’t allow for – you will have to pay the rent yourself. The average price for a studio in San Francisco is $2500.

One-Bedroom Apartments

In certain areas the jump in rent from a studio to a one-bedroom apartment can be quite severe – almost 800 dollars, especially in a relatively nice neighborhood, however in areas such as Merced Manor, Merced Heights and Pine Lake park, the average price is actually rather close, with apartments letting for an average of $2700. If you are willing not to live in the heart of San Francisco, this might be a good place to look.

Two Bedroom Apartments

The market for two-bedroom apartments in San Francisco is a highly competitive one, renters with roommates, existing renters looking to start a family or simply find something bigger are all searching for that holy grail – an affordable two-bedroom apartment. Whilst the prices here will make you want to think long and hard about making a decision, the reality is that if you find a two-bedroom apartment you like – jump on it right away as chances are it won't be around long.

Three Bedroom Apartments

If you are relocating to San Francisco with your family and are in the market for a three-bedroom apartment, it might be worth looking at some of the neighboring areas as opposed to the city itself. A large apartment in the affluent city can start at over $6000 a month and only go up from there. An apartment or house outside the city not only gives you a cheaper option but more open space as well. However, if you are set on living in the city and have the means to do so – some of the best three bedroom apartments in the country are found in this wonderful city!

San Francisco Apartments with Washer and Dryer

The chances of you finding a completely furnished apartment in San Francisco are few and far between, and as your having your own personal washer and dryer – that's a needle in a haystack. Luckily, if you are living in a large apartment building, it is fairly common for there to be a laundry room of some sort somewhere in the building. Or you can always do it the old-fashioned way and find a local launderette to was your clothes.

Pet Friendly Apartments San Francisco

San Franciso is time and time again voted the most dog friendly city in the USA – with countless dog parks, an exceptional 'walkability' score, and almost 200 dog friendly restaurants, your four-legged friend will love life in San Francisco. As a result of this, the majority of apartments are open to you having a pet – though you will need to disclose this beforehand and you might have to pay a small supplement on top of your monthly rent. IT may also be worth looking into rental insurance options as a couple of puppy mistakes and you could lose your deposits.

San Francisco Public Transportation

As the home of both Uber and Lyft, San Francisco can lay a pretty solid claim to being taxi capital of the world (step aside, NYC). However, the San Francisco Bay Area public transportation system offers a wide range of reliable - and cheaper - alternatives to ordering a cab.

Although taxis, Uber and Lyft are the quickest way to get to the city from the airport, buses are by far the cheapest, costing just $2!

For the right balance of speed versus cost, the train is your best bet. Taking 45 minutes from the airport, the journey will cost you around $9.

Once you’re in the city itself, you’ll find that San Francisco public transportation is comprehensive and varied: a mixture of trains, subways, buses, trams, ferries and light railway.

BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit) is San Francisco’s aging but fully-functioning commuter rail and subway service. It consists of a single line throughout the city with multiple stops from the airport to the financial district and then onto other parts of the Bay Area, including the city of Oakland. Fares vary depending on distance, but start at $1.85 for a 1-stop journey.

MUNI - the city’s light rail and subway system - connects the southern and western neighbourhoods of the city with downtown, where you can transfer to BART or Caltrain. For 90 minutes of travel, it’ll cost you $2,25.

Average Price Index: