2019 Generation Z City Index

Les Meilleures Villes pour la Génération Z 

Chez Nestpick nous cherchons à comprendre ce qui fait que les villes sortent du lot pour différents groupes démographiques. A la suite de nos précédentes recherches sur les meilleures villes pour les Millennials, nous avons décidé de nous focaliser sur la Génération Z – le groupe le plus connecté au numérique qui s’apprête à entrer dans l’ère de l’intelligence artificielle. Avec la première vague de diplômés sur le point d’entrer sur le marché du travail cette année, la Gen Z devient de plus en plus vocale sur ses attentes du futur, et refuse de se contenter de lieux qui ne répondent pas à ses besoins. Afin de comprendre cette population changeante, nous avons piloté une étude révélant les villes qui se rendent attractives pour les différents créateurs, militants et innovateurs de demain.

Afin de guider cette étude, nous devions d’abord définir et contextualiser la Génération Z. Selon le Centre de Recherche Pew, les personnes nées entre 1997 et 2012 sont considérées comme des membres de la Gen Z en raison de circonstances sociales, politiques et technologiques communes. Nés dans le contexte de la quatrième révolution industrielle, dans un monde après les attentats du 11 Septembre, la crise du climat, et une récession économique, les membres de la Gen Z sont connus pour être des natifs numériques qui accordent de l’importance à la sécurité, la diversité et l’autonomie, et visent à atteindre ces valeurs grâce au pragmatisme et à la détermination.

Une première sélection de villes renommées et internationales fut réalisée sur la base de leur réputation en tant que destinations où poursuivre une carrière professionnelle et étudier, ainsi que celles qui avaient agi sur les demandes des générations précédentes telles que les Millennials et la Génération X. Le degré de numérisation fut d’abord mesuré selon des facteurs tels que la e-gouvernance, la connectivité et le e-banking. Nous voulions découvrir dans quelle mesure une ville soutient les valeurs de la Génération Z et nous avons évalué le niveau d’égalité sociale, d’internationalisation et d’engagement pour le climat. Ensuite, une note de loisir fut déterminée en mesurant la prévalence d’événements e-gaming et de concerts. Enfin, une note de business fut évaluée en fonction de l’esprit entrepreneurial entretenu par la ville selon différents facteurs tels que la puissance de l’industrie de l’intelligence artificielle, l'entreprenariat social et l’accessibilité.

Le résultat obtenu est un index composé de 22 facteurs qui détermine un classement mondial des villes en fonction de leur reconnaissance et de leurs initiatives pour se préparer à accueillir cette nouvelle et jeune génération.

Les 5 meilleures villes pour la Génération Z

Les 5 villes les mieux préparées pour répondre aux besoin de la Génération Z

Chaque colonne individuelle est classée du plus haut au plus bas et peut être filtrée. Chaque facteur a été noté sur 100. Sur les écrans et les moniteurs de petite taille, il se peut que vous ayez besoin de faire défiler la table horizontalement afin de voir toutes les données. Plus le score est élevé, meilleure est la ville. La méthodologie complète expliquant la manière dont chaque facteur fut mesuré pour chaque ville se trouve au bas de la page.

  Digital Principes Loisirs Business Score
# Ville Pays TOTAL

Méthodologie

Après avoir évalué les meilleures villes pour les Millennials, Les Meilleures Villes pour la Génération Z 2019 se concentre sur le dernier segment démographique dont les membres les plus âgés s’apprêtent à finir leurs études à l’université et d’intégrer le marché du travail. Cet indice est composé de 22 indicateurs classant 110 villes du monde en fonction de leur reconnaissance et de leurs initiatives pour se préparer à accueillir cette nouvelle et jeune génération.

DÉFINITION DE LA GÉNÉRATION Z

D’après le Centre de Recherche Pew, les personnes nées entre 1997 et 2012 sont considérées comme des membres de la Gen Z. Malgré l’absence d’une limite concrète séparant les Millennials de la Génération Z, l’année 1996 a été sélectionnée en raison des circonstances sociales, politiques et technologiques communes qui représentent le fondement de chaque génération. Les membres de la Gen Z sont connus pour être des natifs numériques qui accordent de l’importance à la sécurité, la diversité et l’autonomie, et visent à atteindre ces valeurs grâce au pragmatisme et à la détermination.

SÉLECTION DES VILLES

Une première sélection de villes renommées et internationales fut réalisée sur la base de leurs réputations en tant que destinations où poursuivre une carrière professionnelle et étudier, ainsi que celles qui avaient montré de l’initiative pour agir sur les demandes des générations précédentes telles que les Millennials et la Génération X. Au début, 100 villes ont été choisies pour l’indice final, cependant 10 autres villes qui montent en puissance économique ont été ajoutées afin d’offrir une vision plus représentative. La sélection finale des 110 villes est davantage liée à la faisabilité de rassembler des données concrètes et fiables pour les facteurs nécessaires à l’évaluation du degré d’habitabilité, ainsi que de l’inclusion à l’échelle mondiale.

FACTEURS ET NOTATION

L’étude se focalise sur quatre grandes catégories avec les facteurs décrits ci-dessous qui déterminent dans quelle mesure une ville est attractive pour la Gen Z et prône leurs valeurs.

  • Digital : Digitalisation du Gouvernement, Connectivité/5G, Paiement digital & Banque en ligne, Mobilité Connectée/Économie de Partage, Habitudes Sociales Digitalisées, Éducation, Confidentialité et Sécurité
  • Principes : Internationalisme, Égalité des Sexes, Égalité LGBT+, Action Environnementale, Accès aux Soins de la Santé Mentale, Accès aux Soins, Sécurité, et Droit de Protester
  • Loisirs : Esports, Concerts
  • Business : Esprit Entrepreneurial & Innovation, Accessibilité, Entreprenariat social, Industrie de l’IA, Espaces de Coworking
  • Tous les facteurs ainsi que le total sont mesurés en tant que scores, et sont estimés entre 1 et 100, où 1 est le score le plus faible dans l’ensemble de données et 100 le plus élevé. Une valeur de 100 ne signifie pas que la ville est parfaite et qu’il n’y a pas de besoin de l’améliorer. Elle indique plutôt le fait que la ville se présente le mieux parmi tous les lieux pris en compte dans l’indice. De la même manière, un score de 1 indique que la ville a une performance plus faible par rapport à toutes les autres villes de l’étude. Néanmoins, cela ne signifie pas que la ville n’a aucune capacité à attirer la Génération Z, ni qu’elle est inhabitable pour ce segment démographique dans un contexte plus global. Le score pour chaque facteur est obtenu directement à partir des données brutes et implémente une normalisation de la forme :

    Score(i) = 99* ( ( x(min) ) / (x(max) – x(min) ) ) + 1

    Après avoir normalisé et recensé les données collectées pour chacun des facteurs, une moyenne pondérée fut calculée et normalisée dans le but de créer un score final pour chaque grande catégorie (Digital, Principes, Loisirs, Business). Le score final pour chaque ville fut ensuite déterminé en calculant la somme des notes moyennes des indicateurs dans chaque catégorie. Ce nombre fut normalisé afin de réaliser un résultat final entre 1 et 100 comme suit : SCORE TOTAL = MOYENNE PONDÉRÉE (scores du facteur Digital) + MOYENNE PONDÉRÉE (scores du facteur Principes + MOYENNE PONDÉRÉE (scores du facteur Loisirs) + MOYENNE PONDÉRÉE (scores du facteur Business)

    DIGITAL

    Digitalisation du Gouvernement

    La performance de l’administration nationale en développement du e-gouvernement. Le score étudie trois indicateurs qui incluent la mise à disposition de services en ligne, les investissements en infrastructures de télécommunication et le développement des compétences dans le capital humain.

    Source : Indice du Développement du E-Gouvernement 2018 des Nations Unies

    Connectivité/5G

    La mesure des infrastructures de communication à haut débit existantes au sein d’une ville, ainsi que l’état de préparation et la volonté ’incorporer la Technologie de Prochaine Génération. Ce score comprend la vitesse moyenne de la connexion à haut débit mobile et urbaine à l’échelle nationale, ainsi que l’accessibilité, d’essai ou mise en place de manière planifiée, des services 5G localisés.

    Sources : Ookla Speedtest et carte des réseaux 5G, testmy.net, cable.co.uk

    Paiement digital et Banque en ligne

    La mesure des efforts d’un gouvernement pour donner accès à des options de paiement électronique, la prévalence du paiement digital en tant que moyen de paiement, et la disposition d’une ville pour adopter les paiements sans espèces. Toutes les données comprises dans ce facteur furent collectées au niveau national.

    Sources : Classement de l’Adoption des E-Paiements Gouvernementaux 2018 de l’EIU, Rapport World Cash 2018 de G4S 2018, Rapport Digital Global 2018 de Hootsuite/We Are Social.

    Mobilité Connectée/Économie de Partage

    La force de l’écosystème Particulier à Particulier (P2P) d’une ville, avec une attention particulière sur les services de mobilité partagée en ligne tels que les partage de vélos et les demande de transports. Le score pour ce facteur utilise les données à l’échelle de la ville et à l’échelle nationale.

    Sources : Indice de l'Économie Partagée Timbro 2018, Indice des Villes Cyclables 2019 de Coya, Rapport sur le Futur de la Mobilité 2018 de l’ADL, Indice des Villes Intelligentes 2019 de Easypark, Uber, Carte de Vélo Partage, et d’autres sources.

    Habitudes sociales digitalisées

    La mesure de l’utilisation des réseaux sociaux sur les téléphones mobiles, ainsi que le pourcentage des résidents utilisant des services digitaux pour gérer les événements de la vie quotidienne et pour rester informés. Le score pour ce facteur utilise des données à l’échelle nationale.

    Source : Rapport Digital Global 2018 de Hootsuite/We Are Social.

    Éducation

    La mesure dans laquelle les villes offrent aux étudiants les moyens pédagogiques de se préparer pour un monde axé sur la technologie et l’information. Le score comprend le nombre des institutions d’études supérieurs qui offrent des formations en sciences du numérique, la technologie, et les programmes centrés sur l’innovation dans une périmètre de 200 km du centre-ville.

    Source : Classement Mondial des Universités Times Higher Education 2018.

    Confidentialité & Sécurité

    Le mesure de l’engagement d’un gouvernement pour la protection des données des utilisateurs et la sécurité en ligne. Le score comprend la portée de la législation sur la confidentialité en ligne, l’interdiction des VPN, ainsi que le niveau de sécurité en ce qui concerne les données personnelles des utilisateurs d’Internet.

    Sources : Commission Nationale de l’Informatique et des Libertés (CNIL), Indice National de Cybersécurité, Kaspersky, TheBestVPN.

    PRINCIPLES

    Internationalisme

    La proportion de citoyens nés à l’étranger dans une ville mesurée en tant que score. Des données à l’échelle de la ville furent utilisées pour ce facteur, à l’exception de Doha où les données à l’échelle nationale furent utilisées pour estimer sa valeur.

    Sources : OCDE, Eurostat, Département de la Mondialisation, Urbanisation et Migration de l’Université George Washington, données statistiques officielles, autres sources.

    Égalité des Sexes

    La parité entre les hommes et les femmes en tant que score à l’échelle nationale. Les valeurs comprennent des données sur la santé, présence en politique, le niveau d’instruction, l’opportunité et participation économiques à l’échelle nationale des hommes et des femmes. Des données par état additionnelles furent utilisés pour les villes aux Etats-Unis.

    Sources : Rapport mondial sur la parité entre hommes et femmes du World Economic Forum, WalletHub Meilleurs États pour les Droits des Femmes.

    Égalité LGBT+

    La mesure de l’acceptation d’une ville envers la communauté LGBT+ au niveau social et législatif.

    Sources : Nestpick Meilleures Villes LGBT, Indice Gay Travel Spartacus 2019, Teleport, Nomadlist.

    Action Environnementale

    La performance des initiatives du gouvernement national pour promouvoir le développement durable et la santé environnementale, ainsi que la moyenne annuelle pm2.5 (ug/m3) à l’échelle de la ville.

    Sources : Indice de Performance Environnementale 2018, Organisation Mondiale de la Santé, Berkeley Earth, autres sources.

    Accès aux Soins de Santé Mentale

    L’accessibilité et l’efficacité des gouvernements dans la mise en œuvre de mesures relatives à la santé mentale destinés à aider les individus atteints de maladies mentales et d’accompagner leur intégration dans la société. Le facteur utilise des données nationales, et des données étatiques pour les villes des Etats-Unis.

    Sources : Indice de l’Intégration de la Santé Mentale de Jannsen/EIU, Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation, statistiques locales.

    Accès aux Soins

    Le niveau d’accessibilité à des services de santé de qualité pour les résidents. Les scores pour ce facteur utilisent des données à l’échelle du pays qui évaluent les coûts, l’accessibilité et les résultats des services de santé.

    Source : Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation.

    Sécurité

    Le degré de sécurité ressenti par les membres de la société à l’échelle de la ville. Le score comprend des aspects tels que la sécurité personnelle et des infrastructures, ainsi que la perception de la sécurité par les individus.

    Sources : Safe Cities Index de l’EIU 2017, Indice mondial de la Résidence 2019, Indice de Progression Sociale, FBI, Eurostat, autres sources.

    Droit de Protester

    La liberté des résidents de s’assembler et de s’organiser sans la crainte de représailles. Le score mesure l’existence de lois protégeant les manifestants, les ONG et les syndicats, et prend en compte le degré de violence en manifestation et de terreur politique. Cet indicateur utilise des données à l’échelle du pays.

    Sources : Freedom House, Indice mondial de la Paix 2019.

    LOISIRS

    Esports

    La mesure dans laquelle une ville est équipée pour établir une forte culture esports. Ce score évalue les données à l’échelle de la ville sur le nombre de grandes compétitions esports, la vitesse moyenne de la connexion Internet, le nombre d’entreprises de jeux vidéo, la réputation d’une ville pour être un centre de gaming, et le pourcentage national du flux global sur Steam, une plateforme digitale de distribution de jeux vidéo.

    Sources: Esportsearnings.com, Steam, Testmy.net, Ookla, Gamedevmap, Centurylink, Lionbridge.

    Concerts

    La force de la scène musicale d’une ville avec pour score le nombre de performances programmées. Les valeurs représentent le nombre d’événements dans un lieu sur la période d’un an (Août 2019-2020).

    Sources : Songkick, Bandsintown, Viagogo.

    BUSINESS

    Esprit Entrepreneurial & Innovation

    La facilité de lancer une entreprise et la force de la culture de start-up existante dans une ville, complétée par le niveau des connaissances, de technologie et de production créative à l’échelle nationale. Ce score comprend les coûts et le temps nécessaires pour incorporer une entreprise, le nombre de start-ups dans une ville, et la force de l’écosystème logistique.

    Sources : Rapport Doing Business de la Banque Mondiale, Indice mondial de l’Innovation 2019, AngelList, Crunchbase, Cargo Facts 2016, autres sources.

    Espaces de Coworking

    Un score est fondé sur le nombre de bureaux et espaces privés de coworking par ville, enregistrés sur Coworker.com par rapport à la taille de la population.

    Source : Coworker.com

    Accessibilité

    Le score est établi en fonction du coût de la vie mensuel à l’échelle de la ville.

    Source : Indice des prix en ville de Numbeo.

    Entrepreneuriat social

    Le nombre de start-ups « entrepreneurs sociaux » par ville, enregistrés sur Crunchbase, et le niveau de soutien perçu et la favorabilité des conditions pour lancer et développer une entreprise. Il n’existe pas de consensus sur la définition du terme « Entrepreneuriat Social », cependant afin de guider cette recherche, il est défini par des projets lucratifs et non-lucratifs qui cherchent à maximiser les gains en satisfaction sociale plutôt que le profit. Les termes de recherche sur Crunchbase comprenaient : ‘Sustainability [Développement durable]’ ‘CleanTech’, ‘GreenTech’, ‘Microlending’ et ‘Non-profit ‘.

    Sources : Crunchbase, Reuters Poll - Meilleurs Endroits pour être Entrepreneur Social 2019, Baron, David P. “Corporate Social Responsibility and Social Entrepreneurship [Responsabilité Sociale des Entreprises et Entrepreneuriat Social]” du Journal of Economics & Management Strategy.

    Industrie de l’IA

    Le nombre d’entreprises associées à l’intelligence artificielle dans une ville donnée, en tant que score. Les termes de recherche sur Crunchbase comprenaient : ‘Machine Learning [Apprentissage automatique]’, ‘Predictive Analytics [Analyses prédictives]‘, ‘Natural Language Processing [Traitement automatique du langage naturel]’, ‘Intelligent Systems [Systèmes intelligents]’.

    Sources : Base de données mondiale Asgard sur l'Intelligence Artificielle 2018, Crunchbase.

2019 Generation Z City Index

The Best Cities for Generation Z

At Nestpick we’re interested in understanding what makes cities stand out for different demographics. Following our previous studies on the best cities for millennials, we decided to now focus on Generation Z—the most digitally connected age group who will be embracing the age of artificial intelligence. With the first wave of graduates about to enter the job market this year, Gen Z-ers are becoming more vocal about their expectations for the future, and refuse to settle for homes that fail to meet their needs. To understand this evolving demographic, we piloted a study determining which cities are making themselves attractive destinations to appeal to the creators, advocates, and pioneers of tomorrow.

To guide the study, we first needed to define and contextualize Generation Z. According to the Pew Research Center, those born between 1997-2012 are considered to be a member of Gen Z due to common key social, political, and technological circumstances. Born into the Fourth Industrial Revolution, a post-9/11 world, the climate crisis, and a recession, Gen Z-ers are known to be digital natives who value security, diversity, and autonomy, and aim to achieve it through pragmatism and determination.

A shortlist of prominent, international cities were selected based on their reputation as destinations to pursue work and education, as well as those who have shown initiative to act on the demands of previous generations such as Millennials and Generation X. The degree of digitalization was first measured through factors such as e-governance, connectivity, and e-banking. We wanted to find out to what extent a city supports Gen Z principles and scored their social equality, internationalism, and climate commitment. Next, a leisure score was determined by measuring the prevalence of e-gaming events and concerts. Finally, a business score was evaluated based on the entrepreneurial spirit fostered by a city through factors such as the strength of the AI industry, social entrepreneurship, and affordability.

The final result is an index composed of 22 factors ranking cities worldwide based on their recognition of, and initiatives to prepare for this new, up-and-coming generation.

Top five cities for Generation Z

  • 1. London
    UK
  • 2. Stockholm
    Sweden
  • 3. Los Angeles
    USA
  • 4. Toronto
    Canada
  • 5. New York
    USA

Top five cities prepared for Generation Z’s digital needs

  • 1. Seoul
    South Korea
  • 2. London
    UK
  • 3. Boston
    USA
  • 4. Stockholm
    Sweden
  • 5. Los Angeles
    USA

Each individual column is ranked highest to lowest and is filterable. Each factor has been given a score out of 100, the higher the figure, the better the city performs. On smaller screens and monitors, viewers may need to scroll the table horizontally in order to see all data. The full methodology explaining how each factor was measured for each city is at the bottom of the page.

  • Government Digitalisation
  • Connectivity/5G
  • Digital Payment & Banking
  • Digitalised Mobility/Sharing Economy
  • Digitalised Social Habits
  • Education
  • Privacy & Security
  • Internationalism
  • Gender Equality
  • LGBT+ Equality
  • Environmental Action
  • Access to Mental Health
  • Access to Healthcare
  • Safety
  • Right to Protest
  • ESports
  • Concerts
  • Entrpreneurial Spirit & Innovation
  • Co-Working Spaces
  • Affordability
  • Social Entrepreneurship
  • AI Industry

 DigitalPrinciplesLeisureBusinessScore
RankCityCountryTotal Score

Methodology

Following on from previous iterations evaluating the best cities for millennials, the Best Cities for Generation Z 2019 focuses on the latest demographic whose oldest members are in the process of graduating from university and entering the workforce. This index is composed of 22 indicators ranking 110 cities worldwide based on their recognition of, and initiatives to prepare for this new, up-and-coming generation.

DEFINITION OF GENERATION Z

According to the Pew Research Center, those born between 1997-2012 are considered to be a member of Gen Z. Despite the lack of a definitive boundary separating Millennials and Generation Z, 1996 was selected due to the common key social, political, and technological circumstances that forms the foundation of each generation. Gen Z-ers are known to be digital natives who value security, diversity, and autonomy, and aim to achieve it through pragmatism and determination.

CITY SELECTION

A shortlist of prominent, international cities were selected based on their reputation as destinations to pursue work and education, as well as those who have shown initiative to act on the demands of previous generations such as Millennials and Generation X. Originally, 100 cities were chosen for the final index, however 10 additional locations that are rising in economic strength were included in order to offer a more representative overview. The final selection of 110 cities is further based on the feasibility of collecting extensive, reliable data for the factors used to assess their livability, as well inclusion at a global scale.

FACTORS AND SCORING

The study focuses on four broad categories with the following factors outlined below that determine the extent to which a city is attractive to live for Gen Z and embraces their values.

  • Digital: Government Digitalisation, Connectivity/5G, Digital Payment & Banking, Digitalised Mobility/Sharing Economy, Digitalised Social Habits, Education, Privacy & Security
  • Principles: Internationalism, Gender Equality, LGBT+ Equality, Environmental Action, Access to Mental Healthcare, Access to Healthcare, Safety, and Right to Protest
  • Leisure: Esports, Concerts
  • Business: Entrepreneurial Spirit & Innovation, Affordability, Social Entrepreneurship, AI Industry, Co-Working Spaces
  • All factors as well as the overall total are measured as scores, and are valued between 1 and 100, where 1 is the lowest attainable score in the dataset and 100 is the highest. A value of 100 does not mean a city is perfect and has no need for improvement. Instead, it indicates that the city performs the best out of all locations in the index. In a similar regard, a score of 1 indicates that the city performs the weakest in comparison to the other cities in the study. Nevertheless, this does not necessarily imply that the city has no ability to attract Generation Z, nor is it uninhabitable for the demographic in a wider global context.

    This score for each factor is obtained directly from the raw data and implements a normalisation of the form:

    Score(i) = 99 * ( ( (x(i) - x(min) ) / ( (x(max) - x(min) ) ) + 1

    After the collected data was normalised and determined for each factor, a weighted average to create a final score for each overall category (Digital, Principles, Leisure, Business) was calculated and normalised.

    The final total score for each city was then determined by calculating the sum of the weighted average score of the indicators under each category, which has been normalised in order to create a final result between 1 and 100 as follows:

    TOTAL SCORE = WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Digital factor scores) + WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Principles factor scores) + WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Leisure factor scores) + WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Business factor scores)

    DIGITAL

    Government Digitalisation

    The performance of national administrations in e-gov development. The score looks at three indicators including the provision of online services, investments in telecommunication infrastructure and implementing capacity-building in human capital.

    Source: 2018 United Nations E-government Development Index.

    Connectivity/5G

    The measure of a city’s existing high-speed communication infrastructure, as well as its preparedness and willingness to incorporate Next Generation Technology. This score comprises the average mobile and city broadband speeds at a national-level, as well as the availability, trial or planned implementation of localised 5G services.

    Sources: Ookla Speedtest and 5G map, testmy.net, cable.co.uk

    Digital Payment & Banking

    The measure of a government’s efforts to enable e-payment options, the prevalence of digital payment as a method, and the readiness of a city to embrace cashless transfers. All of the data included in this factor has been collected at a national level.

    Sources: 2018 EIU Government E-Payments Adoption Ranking, G4S 2018 World Cash Report, Hootsuite/We Are Social 2018 Global Digital Report.

    Digitalised Mobility/Sharing Economy

    The strength of a city’s peer-to-peer (P2P) ecosystem, with a focus on online shared mobility services such as bike-sharing and ride-hailing. The score for this factor uses both city-level and national-level data.

    Sources: 2018 Timbro Sharing Economy Index, 2019 Coya Bicycle Cities Index, ADL 2018 Future of Mobility Report, 2019 Easypark Smart Cities Index, Uber, Bike Share Map, and other sources.

    Digitalised Social Habits

    The measure of mobile social media use, as well as the percentage of residents using digital services to manage daily life events and stay informed. The score for this factor uses data at a national level.

    Source: Hootsuite/We Are Social 2018 Global Digital Report.

    Education

    The extent to which cities offer students the educational means to be prepared for a technology-driven, knowledge-based world. The score is comprised of the number of higher education institutions which offer degrees in computer science, technology, and innovation-focused programmes within a 200km radius of a city centre.

    Source: Times Higher Education 2019 World University Rankings

    Privacy & Security

    A measure of the commitment a government has to protect user privacy and online security. The score includes the scope of digital privacy legislation, the prohibition of VPNs, as well as the level of security for an internet user’s personal information. The data for this factor was collected at a national level.

    Sources: The French National Commission on Informatics and Liberty (CNIL), National Cyber Security Index, Kaspersky, TheBestVPN

    PRINCIPLES

    Internationalism

    The percentage of foreign-born citizens in a city measured as a score. City-level data was used for this factor, except for Doha where national-level data was used to estimate its value.

    Sources: OECD, Eurostat, George Washington University department of Globalization, Urbanization and Migration, official statistics departments, other sources.

    Gender Equality

    Gender parity measured as a score at a national-level. Values include data on health, political empowerment, educational attainment, economic opportunity and participation at a national level for both men and women.

    Additional state-level data was used for U.S. cities.

    Sources: World Economic Forum Global Gender Gap Report, WalletHub Best States for Womens’ Rights.

    LGBT+ Equality

    A measure of a city’s acceptance towards the LGBT+ community at a social and legislative level.

    Sources: Nestpick Best LGBT Cities, Spartacus 2019 Gay Travel Index, Teleport, Nomadlist.

    Environmental Action

    The performance of national government initiatives to promote sustainability and environmental health, as well as the annual mean pm2.5 (ug/m3) at a city-level.

    Sources: 2018 Environmental Performance Index, World Health Organisation, Berkeley Earth, other sources.

    Access to Mental Healthcare

    The accessibility and effectiveness of governments in implementing mental health policies aimed to care for individuals with mental health illnesses and assist their integration into society. The factor uses national data, and state-level data for US cities.

    Sources: Jannsen/EIU Mental Health Integration Index, Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation, local statistics departments.

    Access to Healthcare

    The level of accessibility residents have to quality healthcare services. Scores for this factor use country-level data which evaluates the costs, accessibility and outcomes of healthcare. For U.S. cities, state level data was used.

    Source: Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation

    Safety

    The degree of safety experienced by members of society at a city level. The score includes aspects such as personal and infrastructural security, as well as perceived safety by individuals.

    Sources: EIU 2017 Safe Cities Index, 2019 Global Residence Index, Social Progress Index, FBI, Eurostat, other sources.

    Right to Protest

    The freedom of residents to assemble and organise without fear of retaliation. The score measures the existence of legislation protecting demonstrators, NGOs and labour/trade unions, and accounts for the degree of violent protests and political terror. This indicator uses country-level data.

    Sources: Freedom House, 2019 Global Peace Index

    LEISURE

    Esports

    The extent to which a city is equipped to foster a strong esports culture. This score considers city-level data on the number of major esports tournaments, average maximum internet speed, the number of gaming companies, a city’s reputation for being a gaming hub, and the national percentage of global traffic on Steam, a video game digital distribution platform.

    Sources: Esportsearnings.com, Steam, Testmy.net, Ookla, Gamedevmap, Centurylink, Lionbridge.

    Concerts

    The strength of a city’s music scene based on the number of scheduled gigs, as a score. Values represent the number of events in a location within the period of a year (August 2019-2020).

    Sources: Songkick, Bandsintown, Viagogo

    BUSINESS

    Entrepreneurial Spirit & Innovation

    The ease of starting a business and strength of the existing start-up culture in a city, supplemented by the level of knowledge, technology, and creative outputs at a national level. The score includes the necessary costs and time dedicated to incorporating a business, the number of start-ups in a city, and the strength of a logistics ecosystem.

    Sources: World Bank Doing Business Report, Global Innovation Index 2019, AngelList, Crunchbase, Cargo Facts 2016, other sources.

    Coworking Spaces

    A score based on the number of co-working desk and private spaces per city as registered on Coworker.com, in relation to the size of the population.

    Source: coworker.com

    Affordability

    The score is based on the cost of living per month at the city level.

    Source: Numbeo City Price Index

    Social Entrepreneurship

    The number of “social entrepreneur” start-ups per city registered on Crunchbase, and the perceived level of support and favorability of conditions to start and grow a business. There is no firm consensus on a definition for “Social Entrepreneurship”, however to guide this research, it is defined as both profit and non-profit ventures which focus on maximising gains in social satisfaction, rather than maximising profit. Crunchbase search terms included: ‘Sustainability’, ‘CleanTech’, ‘GreenTech, ’Microlending’, and ‘Non-profit’.

    Sources: Crunchbase, Reuters Poll - Best Places to be a Social Entrepreneur 2019, Baron, David P. "Corporate Social Responsibility and Social Entrepreneurship." Journal of Economics & Management Strategy.

    AI Industry

    The number of businesses associated with artificial intelligence in a given city, as a score. Crunchbase search keyword included: ‘Artificial Intelligence’, ‘Machine Learning’, ‘Predictive Analytics’, ‘Natural Language Processing’, ‘Intelligent Systems’.

    Sources: Asgard 2018 Global Artificial Intelligence Landscape Database, Crunchbase

    About Nestpick

    We are Nestpick! More than 200 cities in the world with offers of +1M apartments and rooms for rent we are the biggest search engine for furnished accommodations. From the biggest cities in Europe like apartments in Berlin, apartments in London, apartments in Paris, apartments in Barcelona to USA we offer furnished apartments globally. Nestpick is easy to use and %100 free. We work with more than 100 vetted partners to provide a trusted wide range of furnished apartments and rooms for our users. If you are moving to another city and looking for a furnished apartment, our smart search bar can help you find apartments in New York or apartments inSan Francisco or anywhere else in the world.