2019 Generation Z City Index

Die besten Städte für Generation Z

Hier bei Nestpick wollen wir verstehen, warum einige Städte für bestimmte Altersgruppen besser geeignet sind als andere. Dabei knüpfen wir an unsere Vorgängerstudie an, welche sich mit den besten Städten für Millennials befasste. Dieses Mal steht jedoch die sogenannte “Generation Z” im Vordergrund — die am meisten vernetze aller bisherigen Altersgruppen. Da deren erste Welle von Studienabsolventen dieses Jahr den Arbeitsmarkt betritt, werden auch die Zukunftsforderungen der Generation Z immer lauter — so lehnen si es zum Beispiel zunehmend ab, sich unter Wert zu verkaufen. Um diese sich wandelnde Demographie zu verstehen, entwarfen wir eine neue Studie. Diese befasst sich damit, welche Städte sich am meisten bemühen, schon heute attraktiv für die Macher, Aktivisten und Visionäre von morgen zu sein.

Um die Studie entsprechend durchführen zu können, mussten wir im Vorfeld den Begriff “Generation Z” erst einmal konkret definieren. Laut des Pew Research Center sind damit Personen gemeint, die zwischen 1997 und 2012 geboren wurden, und somit in einem vergleichbaren sozialen, politischen und technologischen Kontext aufgewachsen sind. Sie wurden in einer Zeit groß, die durch die vierte industrielle Revolution, den 11. September, die globale Rezession und die Klimakrise geprägt ist. Kinder der Generation Z gelten als “Digital Natives”, die Sicherheit, Diversität und Autonomie wertschätzen, und versuchen, diese Ziele durch Pragmatismus und Zielstrebigkeit zu erreichen.

Wir haben uns für eine Shortlist internationaler Städte entschieden, welche aufgrund ihres Rufs als Topmetropolen für Arbeit und Bildung gelten, sowie solche, die bereits Initiative ergriffen haben, die Forderungen vorheriger Generationen wie den Millennials oder der Generation X umzusetzen. Den Grad der Digitalisierung haben wir durch Indikatoren wie E-Governance, Konnektivität und E-Banking gemessen. Um herauszufinden, inwieweit die Städte die Grundsätze der Generation Z unterstützen, haben wir sie in den Bereichen soziale Gerechtigkeit, Internationalität und Bekenntnis zum Klimaschutz bewertet. Als nächstes haben wir eine Freizeitwertung ermittelt, die sich durch die Dichte von E-Sports-Events und Konzerten bemisst. Zu guter letzt errechneten wir noch eine Businesswertung, welche aus dem städtisch geförderten Unternehmergeist hervorgeht, so z.B. durch die Dichte von Social Enterprises und Stellen im Bereich KI, der Anzahl der Coworking Spaces und natürlich auch die Höhe der Lebenshaltungskosten.

Das Resultat unserer Arbeit ist ein Index, der aus 22 Kriterien besteht, und welcher verschiedene Weltstädte basierend auf ihrer Anpassung gegenüber der aufstrebenden Generation bewertet.

Die fünf besten Städte für Generation Z

  • 1. London
    Großbritannien
  • 2. Stockholm
    Schweden
  • 3. Los Angeles
    USA
  • 4. Toronto
    Kanada
  • 5. New York
    USA

Die fünf Städte, die am besten auf die digtalen Ansprüche der Gen Z vorbereitet sind

  • 1. Seoul
    Südkorea
  • 2. London
    Großbritannien
  • 3. Boston
    USA
  • 4. Stockholm
    Schweden
  • 5. Los Angeles
    USA

Jede Spalte ist nach Platzierung geordnet und frei sortierbar. Jeder Faktor erhält eine Bewertung von 0 bis 100, wobei eine höhere Zahl ein besseres Ergebnis bedeutet. Auf kleineren Bildschirmen und Monitoren müssen die Benutzer möglicherweise seitwärts scrollen, um alle Daten sehen zu können. Für die komplette Methodik jedes Einzelfaktors siehe Seitenende.

  • E-Governance
  • Konnektivität/5G
  • Digitale Zahlungsmöglichkeiten & E-Banking
  • Digitalisierte Mobilität/Sharing Economy
  • Digitalisierte Alltagspraktiken
  • Bildung
  • Privatspähre & Sicherheit
  • Internationalität
  • Gender Equality
  • LGBT+ Equality
  • Environmental Action
  • Zugang zu geistiger Gesundheitsfürsorge
  • Zugang zu genereller Gesundheitsfürsorge
  • Sicherheit
  • Möglichkeiten des öffentlichen Aktivismus
  • ESports
  • Konzerte
  • Unternehmergeist & Innovation
  • Co-Working-Einrichtungen
  • Erschwinglichkeit
  • Social Entrepreneurship
  • KI-Industrie

 DigitalisierungGrundsätzeFreizeitBusinessScore
PlatzierungStadtLandTotal

Methodik

Nach unserer Vorgängerstudie, die sich mit den besten Städten für Millennials befasst hat, folgt nun diese neue Studie über die Besten Städte für Generation Z 2019. Sie befasst sich mit der bisher jüngsten demografischen Gruppe, deren älteste Mitglieder im Inbegriff sind, die Universität zu verlassen und den Arbeitsmarkt zu betreten. Der Index besteht aus 22 Indikatoren, welche die 110 ausgewählten Städte basierend auf ihrer Adaptierung gegenüber der aufstrebenden Generation bewertet.

DEFINITION DER GENERATION Z

Laut des Pew Research Center umfasst die Generation Z junge Menschen, die zwischen 1997 und 2012 geboren wurden. Trotz fehlender klarer Abgrenzung zwischen Millennials und Generation Z wurde 1996 als Scheidepunkt gewählt, da beide Generationen in einem bestimmten sozialen, politischen und technologischen Kontext aufgewachsen sind, der entweder durch Ereignisse bis 1996 oder nach 1996 geprägt wurde. Mitglieder der Generation Z gelten als “Digital Natives”, die Sicherheit, Diversität und Autonomie wertschätzen, und versuchen, diese Ziele durch Pragmatismus und Zielstrebigkeit zu erreichen.

AUSWAHL DER STÄDTE

Wir haben uns für eine Shortlist internationaler Städte entschieden, welche aufgrund ihres Rufs als Topmetropolen für Arbeit und Bildung gelten, sowie solche, die bereits Initiative ergriffen haben, die Forderungen vorheriger Generationen wie den Millennials oder der Generation X umzusetzen. Ursprünglich haben wir uns für 100 Städte entschieden, aber ergänzten diese Auswahl letztenendes um 10 weitere wirtschaftlich aufstrebende Städte, um den Überblick repräsentativer zu gestalten. Die endgültige Auswahl der 110 Städte basiert zudem auch darauf, ob es möglich war, brauchbare Daten für die jeweilige Stadt zu finden, und ob es Sinn macht, die Stadt mit anderen internationalen Städten zu vergleichen.

FAKTOREN UND BEWERTUNGSSYSTEM

Die Studie konzentriert sich auf vier große Kategorien, die hierunter noch einmal genauer erläutert werden, und welche insgesamt den Attraktivitätsgrad der jeweiligen Stadt für die Generation Z widerspiegeln.

  • Digitalisierung: E-Governance, Konnektivität/5G, E-Banking und elektronische
  • Zahlungsmöglichkeiten, Mobilität/Sharing Economy, Digitalisierte Alltagspraktiken, Bildung, Privatsphäre und Sicherheit
  • Grundsätze: Internationalität, Gender Equality, LGBT+ Equality, Umwelt- und Klimaschutz, Gesundheitsfürsorge (inklusive geistiger Gesundheit), Sicherheit und Möglichkeiten des öffentlichen Aktivismus
  • Freizeit: eSports, Konzerte
  • Business: Unternehmergeist & Innovation, Erschwinglichkeit, Social Entrepreneurship, KI-Industrie, Co-Working-Einrichtungen
  • Alle Faktoren inklusive der Gesamtwertung werden von 0 bis 100 bemessen, wobei 1 der niedrigste und 100 der höchste erreichbare Wert ist. Ein Wert von 100 heißt jedoch nicht, dass die Stadt in diesem Bereich keine Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten hat, sondern lediglich, dass sie das beste Ergebnis aller im Index erfassten Städte erzielt hat. Gleichsam bedeutet ein Wert von 1, dass die Stadt im Vergleich am schlechtesten abgeschnitten hat. Das heißt jedoch nicht automatisch, dass sie für diese demographische Gruppe ungeeignet sein muss, und dass sie keine Mitglieder der Generation Z anziehen kann.

    Der Wert jedes Faktors errechnet sich direkt aus den Rohdaten und nutzt folgende Normalisierungsformel:

    Wert(i) = 99 * ( ( (x(i) - x(min) ) / ( (x(max) - x(min) ) ) + 1

    Nachdem die gesammelten Daten für jeden Faktor normalisiert wurden, wurde ein gewichteter Durchschnitt genutzt, um einen Gesamtwert für jede Kategorie (Digitalität, Grundsätze, Freizeit, Business) zu berechnen.

    Der Gesamtwert für jede Stadt errechnet sich aus der Summe der gewichteten Durchschnitte der Kategorien, welche erneut normalisiert wurden um ein Endresultat zwischen 1 und 100 zu erhalten. Dabei wurde folgende Formel genutzt:

    GESAMTWERT = GEWICHTETER DURCHSCHNITT (Digitalität) + GEWICHTETER DURCHSCHNITT (Grundsätze) + GEWICHTETER DURCHSCHNITT (Freizeit) + GEWICHTETER DURCHSCHNITT (Business)

    DIGITALISIERUNG

    E-Governance

    Misst die Leistung der Regierung im Bereich E-Governance. Der Wert umfasst drei Indikatoren: Bereitstellung von Onlinedienstleistungen, Investitionen in Infrastruktur und Implementierung von Schulungsmaßnahmen.

    Quelle: 2018 United Nations E-government Development Index

    Konnektivität/5G

    Misst die existierende High-Speed-Infrastruktur der jeweiligen Stadt, sowie die Bereitschaft, Next-Generation-Technologien (z.B. 5G) auszubauen. Dieser Wert errechnet sich aus den durchschnittlichen Mobil- und Breitbandgeschwindigkeiten auf nationaler Ebene, sowie der Verfügbarkeit und geplanten Implementierung von 5G.

    Quellen: Ookla Speedtest und 5G-Karte, testmy.net, cable.co.uk

    Digitale Zahlungsmöglichkeiten & E-Banking

    Misst die Anstrengungen der Stadtregierung, digitale Zahlungsmöglichkeiten zu etablieren, sowie das gegenwärtige Vorhandensein solcher und die Bereitschaft der Stadt, bargeldlose Transfers voranzutreiben.

    Quellen: 2018 EIU Government E-Payments Adoption Ranking, G4S 2018 World Cash Report, Hootsuite/We Are Social 2018 Global Digital Report.

    Digitalisierte Mobilität/Sharing Economy

    Misst die Stärke der Peer-to-Peer-Strukturen (P2P) einer Stadt, mit besonderem Fokus auf Mobilitätsdiensten wie Bike-Sharing- oder Ride-Hailing-Apps. Der Wert basiert sowohl auf städtischen als auch landesweiten Datensätzen.

    Quellen: 2018 Timbro Sharing Economy Index, 2019 Coya Bicycle Cities Index, ADL 2018 Future of Mobility Report, 2019 Easypark Smart Cities Index, Uber, Bike-Share-Karte und andere Quellen.

    Digitalisierte Alltagspraktiken

    Misst die Nutzung sozialer Medien mit Handys, sowie den Prozentsatz der Einwohner, die digitale Dienste im Alltagsleben nutzen. Der Wert für diesen Faktor errechnet sich aus Daten auf nationaler Ebene.

    Quelle: Hootsuite/We Are Social 2018 Global Digital Report.

    Bildung

    Misst den Grad, zu welchem die Stadt Studenten Bildungsmöglichkeiten bietet, um bestmöglich auf die heutige, technologie- und wissensbasierte Zeit vorbereitet zu werden. Der Wert besteht aus der Anzahl höherer Bildungseinrichtungen, die innerhalb eines 200-Kilometer-Radiuses von der Stadt Abschlüsse in den Bereichen Informatik, Technologie und Innovation anbieten.

    Quelle: Times Higher Education 2019 World University Rankings.

    Privatsphäre & Sicherheit

    A measure of the commitment a government has to protect user privacy and online security. The score includes the scope of digital privacy legislation, the prohibition of VPNs, as well as the level of security for an internet user’s personal information. The data for this factor was collected at a national level. Misst die Bekenntnis der Regierung zum Schutz der Privatsphäre und der Online-Sicherheit. Der Wert beinhaltet das Ausmaß von Gesetzgebung zu digitaler Privatsphäre, das Verbot von VPNs, sowie den Grad, zu welchem Online-Nutzerdaten und persönlich Informationen sicher sind. Die Datensätze für den Faktor entstammen aus nationaler Ebene.

    Quelle: Die französische Nationalkommission für Informatik und Freiheit (CNIL), National Cyber Security Index, Kaspersky, TheBestVPN.

    GRUNDSÄTZE

    Internationalität

    Misst den Prozentsatz der Stadtbewohner, die im Ausland geboren wurden. Städtische Datensätze wurden benutzt, außer für Doha, wo nationale Datensätze benutzt wurden um den Wert möglichst genau zu bestimmen.

    Quellen: OECD, Eurostat, George Washington University department of Globalization, Urbanization and Migration, official statistics departments, other sources.

    Gender Equality

    Gender parity measured as a score at a national-level. Values include data on health, political empowerment, educational attainment, economic opportunity and participation at a national level for both men and women. Additional state-level data was used for U.S. cities. Misst die Geschlechterparität auf nationaler Ebene. Der Wert beinhaltet Daten zu Gesundheit, politischer Emanzipation, Bildungsabschluss, Wirtschaftsmöglichkeiten und Partizipation von Männern und Frauen auf Bundesebene. Weiterhin wurden für Städte in den USA Datensätze der einzelnen Bundesstaaten genutzt.

    Quellen: World Economic Forum Global Gender Gap Report, WalletHub Best States for Womens’ Rights.

    LGBT+ Equality

    Misst die Akzeptanz einer Stadt gegenüber der LGBT+ Community auf gesellschaftlicher und rechtlicher Ebene.

    Quellen: Nestpick Best LGBT Cities, Spartacus 2019 Gay Travel Index, Teleport, Nomadlist.

    Umwelt- und Klimaschutz

    Misst den Erfolg von Regierungsinitiativen, um Nachhaltigkeit, Umwelt- und Klimaschutz zu fördern, sowie auch die durchschnittlichen jährlichen Feinstaubwerte

    Quellen: 2018 Environmental Performance Index, World Health Organisation, Berkeley Earth, other sources.

    Zugang zu geistiger Gesundheitsfürsorge

    Misst den Zugang zu und die Effektivität von geistiger Gesundheitsfürsorge, die Regierungen bereitstellen, um Personen mit geistigen Krankheiten zu helfen und sie in die Gesellschaft zu integrieren. Der Faktor basiert auf nationalen Datensätzen und bundesstaatlichen Datensätzen für US-Städte.

    Quellen: Jannsen/EIU Mental Health Integration Index, Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation, local statistics departments.

    Zugang zu genereller Gesundheitsfürsorge

    The level of accessibility residents have to quality healthcare services. Scores for this factor use country-level data which evaluates the costs, accessibility and outcomes of healthcare. For U.S. cities, state level data was used. Misst den Zugang, den Einwohner zu hochqualitativer Gesundheitsfürsorge haben. Der Wert basiert auch Datensätzen national Ebene, welche die Kosten, Zugänglichkeit und die Auswirkungen der Gesundheitsfürsorge bewerten. Für US-Städte wurden bundesstaatliche Datensätze genutzt.

    Quelle: Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation.

    Sicherheit

    Misst den Sicherheitsgrad, der von Stadtbewohnern wahrgenommen wird. Der Wert beinhaltet Aspekte wie persönliche und infrastrukturelle Sicherheit, aber auch individuell empfundene Sicherheit

    Quellen: EIU 2017 Safe Cities Index, 2019 Global Residence Index, Social Progress Index, FBI, Eurostat, other sources.

    Möglichkeiten des öffentlichen Aktivismus

    The freedom of residents to assemble and organise without fear of retaliation. The score measures the existence of legislation protecting demonstrators, NGOs and labour/trade unions, and accounts for the degree of violent protests and political terror. This indicator uses country-level data. Misst die Freiheit von Stadtbewohnern, sich ohne Konsequenzen versammeln und organisieren zu können. Der Wert misst das Vorhandensein von Gesetzen, die Demonstranten, NGOs und Gewerkschaften schützen, und berücksichtigt das Ausmaß an gewaltsamen Protesten und politischem Terror. Der Faktor basiert auf Datensätzen nationaler Ebene.

    Quellen: Freedom House, 2019 Global Peace Index.

    Freizeit

    Esports

    Misst den Grad, zu welchem die Stadt in der Lage ist, eine blühende Esports-Landschaft zu unterstützen. Der Wert berechnet sich aus der Anzahl von größeren Esports-Turnieren, der durchschnittlichen Internetgeschwindigkeit, der Anzahl der ansässigen Spieleentwickler, dem Stadtimage als gamingfreundlich und dem Anteil der Stadt an Nutzeraktivität auf Steam, einem Online-Videospieldienst.

    Quellen: Esportsearnings.com, Steam, Testmy.net, Ookla, Gamedevmap, Centurylink, Lionbridge.

    Konzerte

    Misst die Lebhaftigkeit der städtischen Musikszene basierend auf der Anzahl der geplanten Konzerte. Die Werte stehen für die Anzahl an Events innerhalb eines Jahres (August 2019-2020).

    Quellen: Songkick, Bandsintown, Viagogo.

    Business

    Unternehmergeist & Innovation

    Einfachheit der Unternehmensgründung und Stärke der vorhandenen Start-Up-Kultur in der Stadt, sowie aktueller Stand der Wissens-, Technologie- und Kreativbranche auf nationaler Ebene. Der Wert beinhaltet die notwendigen Zeit- und Geldkosten für die Firmengründung, die Anzahl der Start-Up-Unternehmen in der Stadt, sowie die Leistung der logistischen Infrastruktur.

    Quellen: World Bank Doing Business Report, Global Innovation Index 2019, AngelList, Crunchbase, Cargo Facts 2016, andere Quellen.

    Co-Working-Einrichtungen

    Der Wert basiert auf der Anzahl der Coworking-Einrichtungen pro Stadt, die auf Coworker.com registriert sind, in Relation zur Einwohnerzahl.

    Quelle: coworker.com.

    Erschwinglichkeit

    Der Wert berechnet sich aus den durchschnittlichen monatlichen Lebenskosten in der Stadt.

    Quelle: Numbeo City Price Index.

    Social Entrepreneurship

    Misst die Anzahl der “Social Entrepreneur”-Startups pro Stadt, die auf Crunchbase registriert sind, sowie das wahrgenommene Geschäftsklima, um eine Firma zu gründen. Zwar gibt keine einheitliche Definition für “Social Entrepreneurship”, aber für den Zweck dieser Studie definieren wir es als profitorientierte und gemeinnützige Unternehmen, welche auf die Maximierung von sozialer Zufriedenheit statt Profit ausgerichtet sind. Crunchbase-Suchanfragen für diesen Faktor: Sustainability’, ‘CleanTech’, ‘GreenTech, ’Microlending’, and ‘Non-profit’.

    Quellen: Crunchbase, Reuters Poll - Best Places to be a Social Entrepreneur 2019, Baron, David P. "Corporate Social Responsibility and Social Entrepreneurship." Journal of Economics & Management Strategy.

    KI-Industrie

    Anzahl der Unternehmen im Bereich künstliche Intelligenz in der jeweiligen Stadt, basierend auf den Crunchbase-Suchanfragen: ‘Artificial Intelligence’, ‘Machine Learning’, ‘Predictive Analytics’, ‘Natural Language Processing’, ‘Intelligent Systems’.

    Quellen: Asgard 2018 Global Artificial Intelligence Landscape Database, Crunchbase.

2019 Generation Z City Index

The Best Cities for Generation Z

At Nestpick we’re interested in understanding what makes cities stand out for different demographics. Following our previous studies on the best cities for millennials, we decided to now focus on Generation Z—the most digitally connected age group who will be embracing the age of artificial intelligence. With the first wave of graduates about to enter the job market this year, Gen Z-ers are becoming more vocal about their expectations for the future, and refuse to settle for homes that fail to meet their needs. To understand this evolving demographic, we piloted a study determining which cities are making themselves attractive destinations to appeal to the creators, advocates, and pioneers of tomorrow.

To guide the study, we first needed to define and contextualize Generation Z. According to the Pew Research Center, those born between 1997-2012 are considered to be a member of Gen Z due to common key social, political, and technological circumstances. Born into the Fourth Industrial Revolution, a post-9/11 world, the climate crisis, and a recession, Gen Z-ers are known to be digital natives who value security, diversity, and autonomy, and aim to achieve it through pragmatism and determination.

A shortlist of prominent, international cities were selected based on their reputation as destinations to pursue work and education, as well as those who have shown initiative to act on the demands of previous generations such as Millennials and Generation X. The degree of digitalization was first measured through factors such as e-governance, connectivity, and e-banking. We wanted to find out to what extent a city supports Gen Z principles and scored their social equality, internationalism, and climate commitment. Next, a leisure score was determined by measuring the prevalence of e-gaming events and concerts. Finally, a business score was evaluated based on the entrepreneurial spirit fostered by a city through factors such as the strength of the AI industry, social entrepreneurship, and affordability.

The final result is an index composed of 22 factors ranking cities worldwide based on their recognition of, and initiatives to prepare for this new, up-and-coming generation.

Top five cities for Generation Z

  • 1. London
    UK
  • 2. Stockholm
    Sweden
  • 3. Los Angeles
    USA
  • 4. Toronto
    Canada
  • 5. New York
    USA

Top five cities prepared for Generation Z’s digital needs

  • 1. Seoul
    South Korea
  • 2. London
    UK
  • 3. Boston
    USA
  • 4. Stockholm
    Sweden
  • 5. Los Angeles
    USA

Each individual column is ranked highest to lowest and is filterable. Each factor has been given a score out of 100, the higher the figure, the better the city performs. On smaller screens and monitors, viewers may need to scroll the table horizontally in order to see all data. The full methodology explaining how each factor was measured for each city is at the bottom of the page.

  • Government Digitalisation
  • Connectivity/5G
  • Digital Payment & Banking
  • Digitalised Mobility/Sharing Economy
  • Digitalised Social Habits
  • Education
  • Privacy & Security
  • Internationalism
  • Gender Equality
  • LGBT+ Equality
  • Environmental Action
  • Access to Mental Health
  • Access to Healthcare
  • Safety
  • Right to Protest
  • ESports
  • Concerts
  • Entrpreneurial Spirit & Innovation
  • Co-Working Spaces
  • Affordability
  • Social Entrepreneurship
  • AI Industry

 DigitalPrinciplesLeisureBusinessScore
RankCityCountryTotal Score

Methodology

Following on from previous iterations evaluating the best cities for millennials, the Best Cities for Generation Z 2019 focuses on the latest demographic whose oldest members are in the process of graduating from university and entering the workforce. This index is composed of 22 indicators ranking 110 cities worldwide based on their recognition of, and initiatives to prepare for this new, up-and-coming generation.

DEFINITION OF GENERATION Z

According to the Pew Research Center, those born between 1997-2012 are considered to be a member of Gen Z. Despite the lack of a definitive boundary separating Millennials and Generation Z, 1996 was selected due to the common key social, political, and technological circumstances that forms the foundation of each generation. Gen Z-ers are known to be digital natives who value security, diversity, and autonomy, and aim to achieve it through pragmatism and determination.

CITY SELECTION

A shortlist of prominent, international cities were selected based on their reputation as destinations to pursue work and education, as well as those who have shown initiative to act on the demands of previous generations such as Millennials and Generation X. Originally, 100 cities were chosen for the final index, however 10 additional locations that are rising in economic strength were included in order to offer a more representative overview. The final selection of 110 cities is further based on the feasibility of collecting extensive, reliable data for the factors used to assess their livability, as well inclusion at a global scale.

FACTORS AND SCORING

The study focuses on four broad categories with the following factors outlined below that determine the extent to which a city is attractive to live for Gen Z and embraces their values.

  • Digital: Government Digitalisation, Connectivity/5G, Digital Payment & Banking, Digitalised Mobility/Sharing Economy, Digitalised Social Habits, Education, Privacy & Security
  • Principles: Internationalism, Gender Equality, LGBT+ Equality, Environmental Action, Access to Mental Healthcare, Access to Healthcare, Safety, and Right to Protest
  • Leisure: Esports, Concerts
  • Business: Entrepreneurial Spirit & Innovation, Affordability, Social Entrepreneurship, AI Industry, Co-Working Spaces
  • All factors as well as the overall total are measured as scores, and are valued between 1 and 100, where 1 is the lowest attainable score in the dataset and 100 is the highest. A value of 100 does not mean a city is perfect and has no need for improvement. Instead, it indicates that the city performs the best out of all locations in the index. In a similar regard, a score of 1 indicates that the city performs the weakest in comparison to the other cities in the study. Nevertheless, this does not necessarily imply that the city has no ability to attract Generation Z, nor is it uninhabitable for the demographic in a wider global context.

    This score for each factor is obtained directly from the raw data and implements a normalisation of the form:

    Score(i) = 99 * ( ( (x(i) - x(min) ) / ( (x(max) - x(min) ) ) + 1

    After the collected data was normalised and determined for each factor, a weighted average to create a final score for each overall category (Digital, Principles, Leisure, Business) was calculated and normalised.

    The final total score for each city was then determined by calculating the sum of the weighted average score of the indicators under each category, which has been normalised in order to create a final result between 1 and 100 as follows:

    TOTAL SCORE = WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Digital factor scores) + WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Principles factor scores) + WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Leisure factor scores) + WEIGHTED AVERAGE (Business factor scores)

    DIGITAL

    Government Digitalisation

    The performance of national administrations in e-gov development. The score looks at three indicators including the provision of online services, investments in telecommunication infrastructure and implementing capacity-building in human capital.

    Source: 2018 United Nations E-government Development Index.

    Connectivity/5G

    The measure of a city’s existing high-speed communication infrastructure, as well as its preparedness and willingness to incorporate Next Generation Technology. This score comprises the average mobile and city broadband speeds at a national-level, as well as the availability, trial or planned implementation of localised 5G services.

    Sources: Ookla Speedtest and 5G map, testmy.net, cable.co.uk

    Digital Payment & Banking

    The measure of a government’s efforts to enable e-payment options, the prevalence of digital payment as a method, and the readiness of a city to embrace cashless transfers. All of the data included in this factor has been collected at a national level.

    Sources: 2018 EIU Government E-Payments Adoption Ranking, G4S 2018 World Cash Report, Hootsuite/We Are Social 2018 Global Digital Report.

    Digitalised Mobility/Sharing Economy

    The strength of a city’s peer-to-peer (P2P) ecosystem, with a focus on online shared mobility services such as bike-sharing and ride-hailing. The score for this factor uses both city-level and national-level data.

    Sources: 2018 Timbro Sharing Economy Index, 2019 Coya Bicycle Cities Index, ADL 2018 Future of Mobility Report, 2019 Easypark Smart Cities Index, Uber, Bike Share Map, and other sources.

    Digitalised Social Habits

    The measure of mobile social media use, as well as the percentage of residents using digital services to manage daily life events and stay informed. The score for this factor uses data at a national level.

    Source: Hootsuite/We Are Social 2018 Global Digital Report.

    Education

    The extent to which cities offer students the educational means to be prepared for a technology-driven, knowledge-based world. The score is comprised of the number of higher education institutions which offer degrees in computer science, technology, and innovation-focused programmes within a 200km radius of a city centre.

    Source: Times Higher Education 2019 World University Rankings

    Privacy & Security

    A measure of the commitment a government has to protect user privacy and online security. The score includes the scope of digital privacy legislation, the prohibition of VPNs, as well as the level of security for an internet user’s personal information. The data for this factor was collected at a national level.

    Sources: The French National Commission on Informatics and Liberty (CNIL), National Cyber Security Index, Kaspersky, TheBestVPN

    PRINCIPLES

    Internationalism

    The percentage of foreign-born citizens in a city measured as a score. City-level data was used for this factor, except for Doha where national-level data was used to estimate its value.

    Sources: OECD, Eurostat, George Washington University department of Globalization, Urbanization and Migration, official statistics departments, other sources.

    Gender Equality

    Gender parity measured as a score at a national-level. Values include data on health, political empowerment, educational attainment, economic opportunity and participation at a national level for both men and women.

    Additional state-level data was used for U.S. cities.

    Sources: World Economic Forum Global Gender Gap Report, WalletHub Best States for Womens’ Rights.

    LGBT+ Equality

    A measure of a city’s acceptance towards the LGBT+ community at a social and legislative level.

    Sources: Nestpick Best LGBT Cities, Spartacus 2019 Gay Travel Index, Teleport, Nomadlist.

    Environmental Action

    The performance of national government initiatives to promote sustainability and environmental health, as well as the annual mean pm2.5 (ug/m3) at a city-level.

    Sources: 2018 Environmental Performance Index, World Health Organisation, Berkeley Earth, other sources.

    Access to Mental Healthcare

    The accessibility and effectiveness of governments in implementing mental health policies aimed to care for individuals with mental health illnesses and assist their integration into society. The factor uses national data, and state-level data for US cities.

    Sources: Jannsen/EIU Mental Health Integration Index, Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation, local statistics departments.

    Access to Healthcare

    The level of accessibility residents have to quality healthcare services. Scores for this factor use country-level data which evaluates the costs, accessibility and outcomes of healthcare. For U.S. cities, state level data was used.

    Source: Institute for Health and Metrics Evaluation

    Safety

    The degree of safety experienced by members of society at a city level. The score includes aspects such as personal and infrastructural security, as well as perceived safety by individuals.

    Sources: EIU 2017 Safe Cities Index, 2019 Global Residence Index, Social Progress Index, FBI, Eurostat, other sources.

    Right to Protest

    The freedom of residents to assemble and organise without fear of retaliation. The score measures the existence of legislation protecting demonstrators, NGOs and labour/trade unions, and accounts for the degree of violent protests and political terror. This indicator uses country-level data.

    Sources: Freedom House, 2019 Global Peace Index

    LEISURE

    Esports

    The extent to which a city is equipped to foster a strong esports culture. This score considers city-level data on the number of major esports tournaments, average maximum internet speed, the number of gaming companies, a city’s reputation for being a gaming hub, and the national percentage of global traffic on Steam, a video game digital distribution platform.

    Sources: Esportsearnings.com, Steam, Testmy.net, Ookla, Gamedevmap, Centurylink, Lionbridge.

    Concerts

    The strength of a city’s music scene based on the number of scheduled gigs, as a score. Values represent the number of events in a location within the period of a year (August 2019-2020).

    Sources: Songkick, Bandsintown, Viagogo

    BUSINESS

    Entrepreneurial Spirit & Innovation

    The ease of starting a business and strength of the existing start-up culture in a city, supplemented by the level of knowledge, technology, and creative outputs at a national level. The score includes the necessary costs and time dedicated to incorporating a business, the number of start-ups in a city, and the strength of a logistics ecosystem.

    Sources: World Bank Doing Business Report, Global Innovation Index 2019, AngelList, Crunchbase, Cargo Facts 2016, other sources.

    Coworking Spaces

    A score based on the number of co-working desk and private spaces per city as registered on Coworker.com, in relation to the size of the population.

    Source: coworker.com

    Affordability

    The score is based on the cost of living per month at the city level.

    Source: Numbeo City Price Index

    Social Entrepreneurship

    The number of “social entrepreneur” start-ups per city registered on Crunchbase, and the perceived level of support and favorability of conditions to start and grow a business. There is no firm consensus on a definition for “Social Entrepreneurship”, however to guide this research, it is defined as both profit and non-profit ventures which focus on maximising gains in social satisfaction, rather than maximising profit. Crunchbase search terms included: ‘Sustainability’, ‘CleanTech’, ‘GreenTech, ’Microlending’, and ‘Non-profit’.

    Sources: Crunchbase, Reuters Poll - Best Places to be a Social Entrepreneur 2019, Baron, David P. "Corporate Social Responsibility and Social Entrepreneurship." Journal of Economics & Management Strategy.

    AI Industry

    The number of businesses associated with artificial intelligence in a given city, as a score. Crunchbase search keyword included: ‘Artificial Intelligence’, ‘Machine Learning’, ‘Predictive Analytics’, ‘Natural Language Processing’, ‘Intelligent Systems’.

    Sources: Asgard 2018 Global Artificial Intelligence Landscape Database, Crunchbase

    About Nestpick

    We are Nestpick! More than 200 cities in the world with offers of +1M apartments and rooms for rent we are the biggest search engine for furnished accommodations. From the biggest cities in Europe like apartments in Berlin, apartments in London, apartments in Paris, apartments in Barcelona to USA we offer furnished apartments globally. Nestpick is easy to use and %100 free. We work with more than 100 vetted partners to provide a trusted wide range of furnished apartments and rooms for our users. If you are moving to another city and looking for a furnished apartment, our smart search bar can help you find apartments in New York or apartments inSan Francisco or anywhere else in the world.